First Cataract - 4p Map Contest Entry

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

H-Hour

First Cataract - 4p Map Contest Entry

Post by H-Hour »

Here is the initial draft of First Cataract, my map entry for the 4p Map Contest. The map is inspired by Philae, a temple located on an island in the first cataract of the Nile.

This is my first attempt to make a multiplayer map. I've read the guide and done my best to think through the concept and all the details. But to be honest I'm not a very good MP player. I typically play coop or singleplayer. I don't know if this will really work -- I know MP balance is an extraordinarily delicate process. But I'd like to learn, so I'm hoping a few of you might take enough of an interest to give me feedback on this draft.

Concept - I've tried to design the map with distinct roles for team mates. Players 1 and 2 are enormous pressure from two sides: they must try to hold the island while being highly exposed on their flanks. Their partners (players 4 and 3) must balance the need to support their partner in the centre with the need to push hard on their enemy's flank.

Questions - I know the centre island is probably a nightmare for balancing. Can it be saved or is it hopeless?

If you guys think I'm on the right path and this map isn't beyond repair, I'll pack it up in an addon and upload it for testing.

(Map is made in 1.11.x, but I can backport it to 1.10.x if desired. The map contest didn't specify which version to build for, but I guess 1.12 will be out by August.)

Attachments
first-cataract.map
(4.14 KiB) Downloaded 266 times
first-cataract.jpg
Wintermute
Inactive Developer

Re: First Cataract - 4p Map Contest Entry

Post by Wintermute »