[mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
Locked
fog_of_gold
Posts: 637
Joined: December 20th, 2009, 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

[mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by fog_of_gold » October 25th, 2010, 3:10 pm

I suggest to name the poison ability "poison +8" instead of just "poison". We know this from healing: we have 'heals +4' and 'heals +8'. It may be true that there's only one poison but two healings and that this feature is just made to be able to differentiate these, but there are many other uses for this. For example, newbies and players who don't really often play this game directly see how strong poison is without needing to read the description. It'll also make more sure how much heals +4 will slow and finally it's just making the game more unity.

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Gambit » October 25th, 2010, 3:12 pm

The thing is that heals is an ability that takes a variable value for how effective it is. Poison is a weapon special that inflicts a status. That status is nonvariable AFAIK.

fog_of_gold
Posts: 637
Joined: December 20th, 2009, 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by fog_of_gold » October 25th, 2010, 3:38 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by that: What does it have to do with adding a "+8" to the name?

User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by thespaceinvader » October 25th, 2010, 3:43 pm

There's no need, because you can't get poison that does any other amount of damage than 8. The value is hard coded, not controlled by WML.
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.

Anonymissimus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 2458
Joined: August 15th, 2008, 8:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Anonymissimus » October 25th, 2010, 4:14 pm

thespaceinvader wrote:There's no need, because you can't get poison that does any other amount of damage than 8. The value is hard coded, not controlled by WML.
Not quite true. :mrgreen:
At least via
wesnoth.game_config.poison_amount
it is modifieable (that's lua however).

Renaming it made sense from the programmer point of view if the poison special got un-hardcoded so that the core poison special had a specifical poison_amount...
projects (BfW 1.12):
A Simple Campaign: campaign draft for wml startersPlan Your Advancements: mp mod
The Earth's Gut: sp campaignSettlers of Wesnoth: mp scenarioWesnoth Lua Pack: lua tags and utils
updated to 1.8 and handed over: A Gryphon's Tale: sp campaign

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Gambit » October 25th, 2010, 5:11 pm

But that changes it gamewide, so again you have a constant.

User avatar
Ken_Oh
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2176
Joined: February 6th, 2006, 4:03 am
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Ken_Oh » October 25th, 2010, 5:27 pm

Yeah, before anything like this happens, we would need poison to work like heals (i.e. uncoupled from a constant value).

As an option, I'd would suggest giving a cured_with or cured_threshold key which makes it so a unit is poisoned with a poison that has cured_with=X, then that unit gets cured if it gets healed by X points at once (replacing the points heals by the cure).

User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Captain_Wrathbow » October 25th, 2010, 10:31 pm

This isn't really important, but wouldn't it be "poison -8"?

User avatar
Simons Mith
Posts: 784
Joined: January 27th, 2005, 10:46 pm
Location: Twickenham
Contact:

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Simons Mith » October 25th, 2010, 10:46 pm

If one was going to streamline the UI slightly, why not just hyphenate the number - heal-4, heal-8, poison-8, possibly even leadership-1, leadership-2 and so forth?
 

User avatar
Zarel
Posts: 700
Joined: July 15th, 2009, 8:24 am
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Zarel » October 26th, 2010, 6:53 am

I think I understand what he's saying. Even though there's only one poison, adding "-8" to it helps newbies learn and remember that that's how much damage poison does per turn.
Proud creator of the :whistle: smiley | I prefer the CC-0 license.

fog_of_gold
Posts: 637
Joined: December 20th, 2009, 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by fog_of_gold » October 26th, 2010, 1:08 pm

It's true you can play this game without this feature, but it's a that easy change it isn't really costing time and in my opinion, it's saving a lot of more time than it costs to imply that.
Simons Mith wrote:If one was going to streamline the UI slightly, why not just hyphenate the number - heal-4, heal-8, poison-8, possibly even leadership-1, leadership-2 and so forth?
I think it's clearer with heals +4, heals +8.
leadership-1 doesn't make something clear and it would be more confusing than helpful.

And if it's still not clear, I'm not suggesting to get able to change the damage poison does, I just suggest to change the in-game name.


@Captain_Wrathbow:
I'm not sure. It's true that you are damaging the enemy but you can easyly misunderstand it with "poison-8" as if it's the 8th poison ability. This would even be more confusing.

monochromatic
Posts: 1549
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:45 am

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by monochromatic » October 26th, 2010, 6:08 pm

What about simply heals (4), heals (8), and poison (8)?

fog_of_gold
Posts: 637
Joined: December 20th, 2009, 5:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by fog_of_gold » October 26th, 2010, 6:28 pm

Again, IMO heals +x is fine and clearer. For poison(8), I think, this would be another possibility to poison +8 but it gets more unity if you choose poison +8.

monochromatic
Posts: 1549
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:45 am

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by monochromatic » October 26th, 2010, 11:55 pm

Well, personally the + is confusing. You're talking about a status that will subtract from your total hp, rather than add to it. That's why I feel something more neutral like heals (8) or poison (8) is better.

Noy
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1321
Joined: March 13th, 2005, 3:59 pm

Re: [mainline] rename "poison" to "poison +8"

Post by Noy » October 27th, 2010, 4:14 am

fog_of_gold wrote:Again, IMO heals +x is fine and clearer. For poison(8), I think, this would be another possibility to poison +8 but it gets more unity if you choose poison +8.
Okay let me make this clear for you because you're either being obtuse, either intentionally or not. Poison for all intents and purposes IS invariable. Its consistent in all games in mainline. There is a way to change it but that won't ever be used for the sake of consistency. How would you signify a unit taking 4, versus 8 damage in a game? You can't.

Since thats resolved, this thread serves no purpose. Thus Locked

(and If you don't want to be lectured like this, then maybe you should have listened to the two moderators the first time around)
I suspect having one foot in the past is the best way to understand the present.

Don Hewitt.

Locked