1.11.1 Experimental AI

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:

1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby Temuchin Khan » December 9th, 2012, 9:30 pm

I downloaded 1.11.1 for Macintosh OS X 10.5.8, and I tested the experimental AI. Unfortunately, every time it is the computer player's turn, I get a string of six Lua errors, and the AI fails to recruit. Is this a known bug?
User avatar
Temuchin Khan
 
Posts: 1695
Joined: September 3rd, 2004, 6:35 pm
Location: Agaia

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby Alarantalara » December 9th, 2012, 11:08 pm

It is not a known bug.
Can you provide the error message (You can copy all of them from the Console program), era, and map the problem occurred on?

Edit: No need: there is a dependency on the AI-demos add-on it came from left over that's almost certainly your problem. You can work around it by installing that add-on (or updating/deleting the references). Sorry about that.
User avatar
Alarantalara
macOS Packager
 
Posts: 780
Joined: April 23rd, 2010, 8:17 pm
Location: Canada

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby Temuchin Khan » December 10th, 2012, 1:21 am

Alarantalara wrote:...there is a dependency on the AI-demos add-on it came from left over that's almost certainly your problem. You can work around it by installing that add-on (or updating/deleting the references). Sorry about that.

Thanks! That did it!
User avatar
Temuchin Khan
 
Posts: 1695
Joined: September 3rd, 2004, 6:35 pm
Location: Agaia

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby LawLess » December 12th, 2012, 1:34 am

I have the EXACT same problem but on windows.

Operating system: Windows XP, service pack 3, fully up to date
Wesnoth Version 1.11.1
It happens whenever I play a game with the experimental AI. I will keep trying it in other ways to see if anything changes it. Idk if it matters but I saved in my own folder, not the standard directory. Let me know if you need more info.
Attachments
2p_—_Caves_of_the_Basilisk_replay.gz
(17.18 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
2p_—_Caves_of_the_Basilisk_Turn_2.gz
(40.81 KiB) Downloaded 109 times
LawLess
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 1:26 am

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby Temuchin Khan » December 12th, 2012, 1:48 am

LawLess wrote:I have the EXACT same problem but on windows.

Operating system: Windows XP, service pack 3, fully up to date
Wesnoth Version 1.11.1
It happens whenever I play a game with the experimental AI. I will keep trying it in other ways to see if anything changes it. Idk if it matters but I saved in my own folder, not the standard directory. Let me know if you need more info.


Did you try Alarantalara's suggestion?

Alarantalara wrote:...there is a dependency on the AI-demos add-on it came from left over that's almost certainly your problem. You can work around it by installing that add-on (or updating/deleting the references). Sorry about that.
User avatar
Temuchin Khan
 
Posts: 1695
Joined: September 3rd, 2004, 6:35 pm
Location: Agaia

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby LawLess » December 15th, 2012, 3:12 am

Temuchin Khan wrote:Did you try Alarantalara's suggestion?


Derp. Didnt see that. It works perfectly fine with the addon. Sorry.
LawLess
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 12th, 2012, 1:26 am

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby lesleye » July 8th, 2013, 3:21 pm

I'm pretty sure this bug is fixed now because I am not having this issue.
Get a lasercap. Read this lasercap review or other lasercap reviews
lesleye
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 8th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Re: 1.11.1 Experimental AI

Postby mattsc » July 8th, 2013, 3:57 pm

Yes, it's been fixed since 1.11.2. Sorry, we should have reported that here. It's in the changelog though:
Code: Select all
Version 1.11.2:
[...]
 * AI:
   * Experimental Multiplayer AI
     [...]
     * Remove dependency on AI-demos add-on

Note that as of 1.11.5 there is also a macro EXPERIMENTAL_AI available for including this AI in single-player scenarios. Also, we are working on another Experimental AI that is much more different from Wesnoth' default AI. That one is currently only available in the AI-demos add-on as it still has some major bugs that don't make it fit for mainline. Also, it currently only works for Side 1 on the Freelands map, but that's a minor detail. ;)

Anyways, development on all these AIs continues, so feedback is very welcome.
mattsc
 
Posts: 969
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 6:14 pm
Location: Wandering, mostly aimlessly


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests