Working on a new unit, need advice

Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
ChrundleTheGreat

Working on a new unit, need advice

Post by ChrundleTheGreat »

Im making a unit for my umc campaign but im a beginner at this, i already got some advice on the hands and shadow so i updated her but she still needs a sword, i want her to have a long sword on her right hand sort of resting on her shoulder but as i said i don't have a lot of experience with this, i actually edited a fairy unit to get her like this so i don’t know how to begin with changing positions for the attack animation. Could anybody help me with this? :hmm:
Also any comments or advice on changing whats already done(or simply on how to get better at pixel art and animation) are welcome :) thanks!
Attachments
HumanGirl..png
HumanGirl..png (1.42 KiB) Viewed 3221 times
HumanGirlDirty 2.png
HumanGirlDirty 2.png (1.48 KiB) Viewed 3221 times
Vyncyn
Forum Regular

Re: Working on a new unit, need advice

Post by Vyncyn »

The homepage already has some great tutorials for creators https://wiki.wesnoth.org/Create_Art#Sprite_Art
I especially recommend Zerovirus's Spriting Workflow and https://wiki.wesnoth.org/Basic_Animation_Tutorial

Also one trick I like is to paint a "puppet" over existing units.
Just use simple colors, place over head/torse/arms/legs and "map" out the unit. This gives you a good idea of its anatomy and you can also use it as start for animation later by moving/ redrawing the arms and legs of the puppet before readding the units image.

Made a small example for you
Attachments
frankenreplacement.png
frankenreplacement.png (4.67 KiB) Viewed 3172 times
ChrundleTheGreat

Vyncyn wrote: May 29th, 2023, 8:55 am The homepage already has some great tutorials for creators https://wiki.wesnoth.org/Create_Art#Sprite_Art