Help a Noob Out.

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

FieryChipmunk

Help a Noob Out.

Post by FieryChipmunk »

Hey, you wonderful internet people! I just got this game like two days ago, and I'm not very good at it (shocker, I know). I would love if I could get some tips on how to play better. Stuff like what factions are best, how to move troops around effectively and safely, effective tactics for multiplayer, and so on. Thanks for your time! :D
gnombat

Re: Help a Noob Out.

Post by gnombat »

Basic stuff is covered in the manual, especially the Strategy and Tips section.

The wiki also has a number of good pages.

There is also a detailed Wesnoth Strategy Guide.
Yomar

Post by Yomar »

Yes, check out the "how to play section" there you will find suggestions of how yo play wirh every faction.
Beheld the origins of BFW.
Max G on WIF
Rank 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
beetlenaut
Developer

Post by beetlenaut »

Years of work have gone into balancing the factions so there isn't a best one. They have different styles though. For example, the orcs have strong, cheap units so they should try to overwhelm their enemy with numbers, while elves should use their mobility to take and hold forest hexes where they are difficult to dislodge.

Thinking in Wesnoth is a YouTube series where a strong player coments on MP matches as he plays them. It would be very helpful to watch a few.

How to Play link.
Campaigns: Dead Water,
The Founding of Borstep,
Secrets of the Ancients,
and WML Guide
LienRag

Post by LienRag »

I found the "Thinking in Wesnoth" very interesting, thank you. Especially the first video (I'm watching the second right now), I didn't understand that we were supposed to play the units so far apart from each other, as the AI always gang up on one when attacking.