The UI of Battle For Wesnoth

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

claudiurentea

The UI of Battle For Wesnoth

Post by claudiurentea »

Hello everyone,
My name is Claudiu Rentea and i'm a huge fan of BFW. I played it since i first installed Debian Linux on my computer, years ago.
The fact is i'm an UI Artist/Designer too, working in the game industry for 3 years and i've made some concepts of the UI in the main menu and in game HUD.

Please tell me your feedback and if you love it why not maybe we can implement it in the main game.

Regards,
Claudiu Rentea
Attachments
InGame.png
Battle of Wesnoth - Preferences.png
Battle of Wesnoth - MainMenu.png
WhiteWolf
Forum Moderator

Re: The UI of Battle For Wesnoth

Post by WhiteWolf »

While they look a bit out-of-style compared to the current house style, these actually look pretty sick. The dark shading is excellent. I'm not sure about the current limitations of themeWML, and whether this can be implemented or not, but I'd love to see something like this as an optional alternate theme.
Main UMC campaigns: The Ravagers - now for 1.16, with new bugs!
Old UMC works: The Underness Series, consisting of 5 parts: The Desolation of Karlag, The Blind Sentinel, The Stone of the North, The Invasion Of The Western Cavalry, Fingerbone of Destiny
Astoria
Inactive Developer

Post by Astoria »

I am not entirely sure about the technical feasibility of a project like this but in a vacuum I like all of the screenshots a lot! Though I think the in game UI might be a bit too minimalistic at the moment, how do you see the UI looking for especially unit information when there is simply more information to show?
Formerly known as the creator of Era of Chaos and maintainer of The Aragwaithi and the Era of Myths.
shevegen

Post by shevegen »

> how do you see the UI looking for especially unit information when there is simply more information to show?