Assert fail

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4363
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Assert fail

Post by Pentarctagon »

gfgtdf wrote:
April 26th, 2020, 10:05 pm
Thx for this logfile, unfortunately it doesn't contain any information related to the crash, so all we can do for not is to add more logging information in wesnoth 1.14.12 and hope that someone can reproduces it there once it comes out which will probably take a few more months.

Other than that from the two reports it looks a bit as this problem might be is specific to the sourceforge version (afaik the sourceforge version and the steam version are build using different compilers). So it'd be nice if someone could check whether it also happens with the steam version.
Klagarn reported it happening on Steam as well today:
steam-assert.png
steam-assert.png (34.35 KiB) Viewed 252 times
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1311
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: Assert fail

Post by gfgtdf »

So we found out that this is casued by a memoryleak that seems to happen in particular when a game is loaded, while we don't know the exact casue yet we can reccomend for everyone that encounters this bug to restart wesnoth after every scenario.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.

Post Reply