Saurian sprites

Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
Talentless

Saurian sprites

Post by Talentless »

If you want to use the new Saurian units, download the "Saurian Pack" addon. You can find the latest version of the graphics and scripts in this repository.

---

The original post:

As you might guess, saurians are my favorite race in Wesnoth by far. I'm surprised that there are no additional saurian sprites of similar quality to the mainline ones - or, at least, I haven't seen such sprites. That's why I decided to make a few, expanding the original unit trees and creating my own. This is actually my third attempt at pixel art (the first being a small skull for my UI and the second - scaven sprite for Wesnoth, which... was not so good), so it is pretty obvious I need some advice. I'm a programmer myself, but I find pushing pixels a quite useful skill and if I can learn it by creating something which might actually be used in a game, I'm fine with that. Yeah, enough introductions.

I want to start out with a "Saurian Enforcer" (or whatever) - a lv1 unit, wielding Aztec-inspired mace. As both augur and skirmisher have the same base, I also decided to use it - I took a little bit of both and changed the armor and weapon. Still, the hand holding the weapon doesn't seem right. I'd appreciate some some tips (on anatomy and palette) before I start animating - lesson learned after I had to delete a whole bunch of idle images after I realized that the colors need more contrast and armor needs tweaking. I attached what I have so far.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
Enforcer v1 (resized).
Enforcer v1 (resized).
enforcer-big.png (2.56 KiB) Viewed 40789 times
Enforcer v1.
Enforcer v1.
enforcer.png (1.69 KiB) Viewed 40789 times
Enforcer's weapon.
Enforcer's weapon.
Last edited by Talentless on November 11th, 2021, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ravana