Text is suddenly too thin?

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

I've been playing Wesnoth since the beginning of quarantine with no technical issues, but today I opened it up and all the text was really thin? it's hard to read and navigating menu items is difficult. A couple of screenshots attached.

Any ideas on how to fix? I'm running on a 5 year old Mac laptop running OSX 10.11.6, which hasn't been an issue thusfar. Wesnoth version 1.14.14
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 8.53.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 8.53.47 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 8.53.40 PM.png
User avatar
Lord-Knightmare
Discord Moderator
Posts: 1290
Joined: May 24th, 2010, 5:26 pm
Location: Somewhere in the depths of Irdya, gathering my army to eventually destroy the known world.
Contact:

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by Lord-Knightmare »

I run Wesnoth 1.14.14 on Cataline 10.15.7 (my MacBook Pro is the Early-2015 model) and I don't have this issue. Perhaps a Mac OS X update might fix this?
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4644
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by Pentarctagon »

Alternately, was there an update to OSX 10.11 recently? 1.14.14 was released a couple months ago, so nothing should have changed as far as Wesnoth goes.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

I can't update my OS—I rely on it to operate a lot of out-of-date software that has since gone subscription only.

I don't think they released a software update for an old version of OSX… I generally do not update and try to set everything to notify me rather than automatic update so I like to think I would have seen it but you never know...
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

Anybody know a setting I can change or some file I can edit to fix?
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4644
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by Pentarctagon »

Can you provide the build information as described here (second bullet point)?
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

Thank you for directing me to that, apologies for including that at the outset:


The Battle for Wesnoth version 1.14.14
Running on Apple OS X 10.11.6 (15G1108)
Distribution channel: SourceForge

Game paths
==========

Data dir: /Applications/The Battle for Wesnoth.app/Contents/Resources
User config dir: /Users/USER/Library/Containers/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/Data/Library/Application Support/Wesnoth_1.14
User data dir: /Users/USER/Library/Containers/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/Data/Library/Application Support/Wesnoth_1.14
Saves dir: /Users/USER/Library/Containers/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/Data/Library/Application Support/Wesnoth_1.14/saves
Add-ons dir: /Users/USER/Library/Containers/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/Data/Library/Application Support/Wesnoth_1.14/data/add-ons
Cache dir: /Users/USER/Library/Containers/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/Data/Library/Application Support/Wesnoth_1.14/cache

Libraries
=========

Boost: 1.74
Cairo: 1.16.0 (runtime 1.16.0)
Pango: 1.46.1 (runtime 1.46.1)
SDL: 2.0.12 (runtime 2.0.12)
SDL_image: 2.0.5 (runtime 2.0.5)
SDL_mixer: 2.0.4 (runtime 2.0.4)
SDL_ttf: 2.0.15 (runtime 2.0.15)

Features
========

JPEG screenshots: yes
Lua console completion: yes
Legacy bidirectional rendering: no
Cocoa notifications back end: yes

Current video settings
======================

Current pixel resolution: 1280x800
Refresh rate: 60
SDL reports: 227x227 dots per inch.

Installed add-ons
=================

Deep_Elves : 1.52.0
Desert_Map-Pack : 1.9.2
Dragon_Lair : 0.3.4
Era_of_Magic : 3.2.1
Era_of_Magic_Resources : 1.1.1
Era_of_Shadows : 1.1.7
Gobowars : 2.2.0
Halfelven : 1.8.10c
new
Legend_of_the_Invincibles : 3.2.6c
Ranged_Attacks_Simple : 1.1.4
Reign_of_the_Lords : 9.2.6
Reign_of_the_Lords_Portraits : 1.2.0
Return_from_Captivity : 1.6.0
Rich_Marinaccios_Dragons : 1.2.1
Sea_Fire : 1.17.0
Sea_Fire_Era : 1.0.1
Sharifs : 1.8.10a
Southerners : 1.8.10a
The_7_Seasons : 1.1.0
The_Altaz_Mariners : 3.2.0
The_Great_Quest : 2.9.9c
World_Conquest_II : 0.7.10.3
campaign_drop_mod : 1.3.0
User avatar
hrubymar10
macOS Packager
Posts: 26
Joined: August 13th, 2016, 9:11 am

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by hrubymar10 »

Hi BlastMastr

So you are using this 1.14.14 package for more then for example 1 month and this problem came of nowhere?
Are you sure that you haven't updated wesnoth recently (for example day before that issue started).
I know that it sounds weird but have you tried restart your mac?

If restart won't help, I would suggest removing these two files:

Code: Select all

/path/to/The Battle for Wesnoth.app/Contents/Resources/fonts/Lato-Thin.ttf
/path/to/The Battle for Wesnoth.app/Contents/Resources/fonts/Lato-ThinItalic.ttf
After that you probably won't be able to just double-click on app to open it, but you will have to bypass security check first (as you modified app's data)

One of steps bellow could work. Let me know if it won't work.

* First try double-click on app and check if it will work (it probably won't)
* Then try right-click on app and select open.
* If previous step didn't work, the try open Terminal.app and enter this command:

Code: Select all

sudo xattr -rd com.apple.quarantine "/path/to/Wesnoth.app"
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

I tried removing the two files you suggested and while I had no trouble opening Wesnoth afterward, the result is the same, though a couple words on the tips section of the main menu were suddenly bolded. Here's a screenshot of a campaign
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-11-28 at 8.46.16 PM.png
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

(also a restart did not help)
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

i don't remember updating, though when I first saw the problem, I reinstalled from the dmg currently up on the website so maybe I updated then unknowingly—to be honest I don't remember anything changing a couple months ago so I'm not sure about the update.
User avatar
hrubymar10
macOS Packager
Posts: 26
Joined: August 13th, 2016, 9:11 am

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by hrubymar10 »

Hi BlastMastr.

Can you try remove all Lato fonts? Go to:

Code: Select all

/path/to/The Battle for Wesnoth.app/Contents/Resources/fonts/
and remove all files starting with "Lato-"

To be honest I really don't know what is going on. Removing Lato fonts should force wesnoth to use system's fonts which won't be so nice but they will probably work.

Second thing is that you can try latest development build of wesnoth available from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/wesnot ... g/download

Third thing is that there will be new stable and development version release soon (12/19 to be exact) so maybe it will fix this issue for you.

This behaviour is weird and I can't reproduce it myself in none of my testing systems so I can't help you more :( I am sorry :(
BlastMastr
Posts: 12
Joined: April 14th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by BlastMastr »

Thank you for all your help!!! It's not unplayable, just requires a little extra squinting. I will wait for the new version release and hope that helps. I really appreciate you taking the time and making an effort.
User avatar
hrubymar10
macOS Packager
Posts: 26
Joined: August 13th, 2016, 9:11 am

Re: Text is suddenly too thin?

Post by hrubymar10 »

Hi BlastMastr,

New stable and development versions were released.

Try the new stable version 1.14.15 and if it won’t help, please also try the new development version 1.15.8 . (You can use your old saves in development version. You just have to switch to them in load menu).
Post Reply