New Development Version: Please Test!

Discussion among members of the development team.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

New Development Version: Please Test!

Post by Dave »

I have released a new development version, which needs to be generally tested, as well as one specific feature tested.

It may be found at http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/wesnoth-0.3.7.tar.gz

Firstly, some bug fixes:

- if you attempt to recall a unit, but can't due to not having enough gold or not having a vacant castle tile nearby, it will no longer delete that unit from your list of available units
- if you move a unit onto an item, or make any movement that 'mutates' the scenario, you can no longer undo that move.

Thanks to miyo for pointing out those bugs to me.

The new feature that needs testing is the 'Replay' feature. In the main game menu there is an option "Replay (Experimental!)". Clicking it will replay all the moves since the beginning of the scenario. This feature is fairly complex, so there might be some bugs in it. I'd love for people to test it.

This feature is fairly significant, because it can be used in a number of ways,

- most obviously, allow the user to replay the computer's turn, in case they missed something.
- allow the user to save replays of great battles they are happy with, and send them to other users. Or for someone to save a replay of how they beat a scenario to show it can be done!
- it's useful in implementing a network version of the game. All that has to be sent over the network is the replay data for your turn.
- it could be used in implementing mid-level saving. Just save the replay up to that point in the scenario (and when loading the game, go through the results fast without showing them on-screen).

There's also another minor feature which some might like:

if while the AI is moving, you hold down either shift key, it will speed up the AI's moves to be very fast.

David
Last edited by Dave on August 21st, 2003, 12:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Make fails. I can build 0.3.4 just fine.

OS: Debian GNU/Linux (Sid)

- Miyo

gcc `sdl-config --cflags` `freetype-config --cflags` -c unit.cpp -o unit.o
unit.cpp: In member function `bool unit::matches_filter(config&) const':
unit.cpp:188: error: no match for 'operator&&' in 'std::find(_InputIter,
_InputIter, const _Tp&) [with _InputIter =
__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<const char*, std::basic_string<char,
std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > >, _Tp =
char](std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::end() const [with _CharT =
char, _Traits = std::char_traits<char>, _Alloc = std::allocator<char>](),
(&',')) && __gnu_cxx::operator!=(const
__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<_Iterator, _Container>&, const
__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<_Iterator, _Container>&) [with _Iterator =
const char*, _Container = std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>,
std::allocator<char> >]((&std::search(_ForwardIter1, _ForwardIter1,
_ForwardIter2, _ForwardIter2) [with _ForwardIter1 =
__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<const char*, std::basic_string<char,
std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > >, _ForwardIter2 =
__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<const char*, std::basic_string<char,
std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > >](std::basic_string<_CharT,
_Traits, _Alloc>::end() const [with _CharT = char, _Traits =
std::char_traits<char>, _Alloc = std::allocator<char>](),
std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::begin() const [with _CharT =
char, _Traits = std::char_traits<char>, _Alloc = std::allocator<char>](),
std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::end() const [with _CharT = char,
_Traits = std::char_traits<char>, _Alloc = std::allocator<char>]())),
(&std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::end() const [with _CharT =
char, _Traits = std::char_traits<char>, _Alloc = std::allocator<char>]()))'
unit.cpp:188: error: candidates are: operator&&(bool, bool) <built-in>
make: *** [unit.o] Error 1
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

Same error. Debian Sid too.
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Oh I'm sorry, I'm stupid :-)

I forgot to post a link to the new version. It's at http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/wesnoth-0.3.6.tar.gz

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Make fails with 0.3.6.

OS: Debian GNU/Linux (Sid)

- Miyo

gcc `sdl-config --cflags` `freetype-config --cflags` -c pathfind.cpp -o pathfind.o
pathfind.cpp: In constructor `paths::paths(const gamemap&, const game_data&,
const std::map<gamemap::location, unit, std::less<gamemap::location>,
std::allocator<std::pair<const gamemap::location, unit> > >&, const
gamemap::location&, std::vector<team, std::allocator<team> >&, bool, bool)':
pathfind.cpp:182: error: `cerr' undeclared in namespace `std'
make: *** [pathfind.o] Error 1
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Okay, I'll update it when I get a chance.

For the moment, just add #include <iostream> to the top of pathfind.cpp and it should work (that file should anyway).

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Dave wrote:add #include <iostream> to the top of pathfind.cpp
Success with make. Now I can playtest it tomorrow, er... today. But first some resting.

- Miyo
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Okay, I found a bug myself.....attacking units couldn't advance. This has been fixed now though and will be available with the next version.

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

post the patch here so we can fix our releases also *grin*

- Miyo
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Okay, I give you another new version:

http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/wesnoth-0.3.7.tar.gz

This version has mid-level saving implemented. You can also choose whether you want to replay the game up to the point of the save.

Saving and loading of mid-level saves will NOT work across game versions.

David
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

0.3.7 fails at unit.cpp (same error, cerr undeclared), but it worked adding #include <iostream>

Some problems seen (not bugs):
-Scenarios 2, 4 and 8 are repeated in the loading menu.
-Windowed mode by default. Windowed mode is annoying: kde menu over the window game (unless you set "always on top"), can't resize, window greater than display, mouse can't move the game map...
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

The patch.

- Miyo

--- unit.cpp 2003-08-21 15:45:56.000000000 +0300
+++ unit.cpp 2003-08-21 19:09:49.000000000 +0300
@@ -3,6 +3,7 @@
#include "replay.hpp"
#include "unit.hpp"

+#include <iostream>
#include <algorithm>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <sstream>
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

ettin wrote: -Scenarios 2, 4 and 8 are repeated in the loading menu.
rm saves *grin*

- Miyo
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Version: 0.3.7

Prologue is too fast for me, "slide" changes before I can read all the text.

If I click mouse button in prologue it forwards two "slides" instead of one.

How to make it fullscreen?

- Miyo
fmunoz
Founding Artist
Posts: 1469
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 10:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by fmunoz »

miyo wrote:Version: 0.3.7

How to make it fullscreen?

- Miyo
./wesnoth -fullscreen

In windows create a link with that options
Post Reply