First try at portrait

Contribute art for mainline Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
-wight-

First try at portrait

Post by -wight- »

yeah its looks abit out of proportion but i like it. I made it to go with a unit i made a while back. so yeah what do you guys think.
Attachments
and this was the sketch
and this was the sketch
portrait sketch.JPG (28.29 KiB) Viewed 3473 times
this was the unit
this was the unit
dwarf 1.PNG (1.86 KiB) Viewed 3473 times
jg

Post by jg »

I think both are quite good, not mainline quality (perhaps), but still good for a start. Since I am no great artist, better wait for the comments of others, but I will still give it a shot. The eyes of the dwarf in the portrait seem kind of strange to me. They seem to look like big black blobs.

The right shoulder (seen from the viewpoint of the dwarf) of the unit-picture seems not to be there. This is because it has a very light color. This might look strange on terrain like snow and ice. Better change the color a little.

jg
Last edited by jg on August 14th, 2006, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dragon Master

Post by Dragon Master »

@the unit: The dwarf is okay, but looks to be in mid walk. His shoulder blade should be a more metallic color.

@ the portrait: What's with his eyes? Every time I look I can't help but think his eyebrows are him squinting and he has black face paint on to shield him from the sun. Eyes just aren't that shape. Also, please don't draw on lined paper, use a clear one. I would have to say that you could very well color the portrait, but fix the eyes first.
Stilgar

Post by Stilgar »

I'm pretty sure those "eyes" are meant to be warpaint. The figure's pretty good, in a cartoonish way, but I think the axe looks a bit too simplified and the axehead seems oddly twisted.
Elvish_Pillager
Location: Everywhere you think, nowhere you can possibly imagine.

Post by Elvish_Pillager »