Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
jani
Posts: 38
Joined: October 26th, 2008, 9:40 am

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by jani »

:E apparently you didn't. but when are you fixing coz now im stuck in that scenario and cant play rest of campaing?

User avatar
docrock
Posts: 259
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 1:32 pm
Location: the wild southern forests of germany

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by docrock »

playing current version from 1.5.x campaign server on BfW 1.5.6 with default difficulty. in "Old Enemies" the children which i should guide don't show up (clever of them, lol).

edit: meanwhile noticed that mages who did get graded up from the apprentices don't level as expected. they stay mages even if they got enough xp to level, thereby not healing and not advancing.
Postings may contain traces of sense.
The ministry of health warns:
Living is dangerous to your health and may finally result in death.
You are a Dwarvish Berserker: you're freaking crazy and enjoy it. (100% ...)

pinguinsteve
Posts: 20
Joined: December 8th, 2008, 3:45 pm

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by pinguinsteve »

hi, same thing here

no children and proper uprading of mages and i have to add, in scenario "shadows from the past" the prisoners are missing

version 1.5.6 windows and current version fom 1.5.x server

SkeleRanger
Posts: 151
Joined: August 12th, 2008, 11:10 pm
Location: The Isle of Alduin

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by SkeleRanger »

Well, I figured out that this only happens in medium difficulty,which is good, but unfortunately I still don't know why. Be back when I do. :oops:

UPDATE: Hurray! I found that in the main I specified difficulties easy, NORMAL, and hard. Fixed and uploaded. (0.7.3)
'We've strayed into a zone with a high magical index... Don't ask me how. Once upon a time a really powerful magic field must have been generated here, and we're feeling the after-effects.'
'Precisely,' said a passing bush.
--Terry Pratchett
Tale of a Mage(finished)
Art for Tale of a Mage

jani
Posts: 38
Joined: October 26th, 2008, 9:40 am

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by jani »

in scenario daring rescue after first turn comes error message unknown unit type while generating traits. eh so stuck again

t3st3r
Posts: 53
Joined: September 21st, 2008, 8:54 pm

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by t3st3r »

In Wesnoth 1.5.6 I got 2 problems:
1) On "Old Enemies" scenario when I'm putting children over 1,30 - nothing happens so objectives can't be completed. Fortunately, this does not prevents killing necromancer (then I'm getting victorious).
Let's say I played at "normal" level and it has been TOO EASY to kill necromancer. He had few gold and few units and I and allies had ton of gold and powerful units so necromancer has been killed very quickly anf without any problems.I do not know if this is intended behavior or not but it could be good to make necromancer a bit more powerful (like it was in earlier versions of this campaign for 1.4.x version of Wesnoth).

2) On "A Daring Rescue" scenario I'm getting error after first turn.
Part of debug log at this time:

Code: Select all

20081211 21:33:43 END: finding targets... (took 8ms)
20081211 21:33:43 info ai: targets: 5
20081211 21:33:43 info config: trying to find Haldberdier in unit_type list (unit_type_data.unit_types)
20081211 21:33:43 info config: key not found, returning dummy_unit
20081211 21:33:43 info engine: Generating a trait for unit type  with musthaveonly 1
20081211 21:33:43 error engine: unit of type  not found!
  20081211 21:33:43 END: analyze_potential_recruit_movements() (took 11ms)
20081211 21:33:43 END: doing ai move (took 1578ms)
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 316
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 349
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 598
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 951
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 1152
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 1153
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 1154
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 1155
20081211 21:33:43 debug engine: Delete unit 1156
20081211 21:33:43 error general: Error while playing the game: game_error: Unknown unit type '' while generating traits
20081211 21:33:43 info display: showing dialog 'Error' 'Error while playing the game: game_error: Unknown unit type ''
while generating traits'

User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by Turuk »

For "On A Daring Rescue" that is a mistake due to the misspelling in the code.

It should read Halberdier, not Haldberdier. A fix for now would be to locate the mistake in the scenario file and put the correct spelling in instead.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time

t3st3r
Posts: 53
Joined: September 21st, 2008, 8:54 pm

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by t3st3r »

Typo seems to be in [Side] definition for King Konrad in 15_A_Daring_Rescue.cfg.

Damn, now I'm got same error when green skeleton recruits :shock:
20081212 10:35:33 info config: trying to find Renevant in unit_type list (unit_type_data.unit_types)
20081212 10:35:33 info config: key not found, returning dummy_unit
20081212 10:35:33 info engine: Generating a trait for unit type with musthaveonly 1
20081212 10:35:33 error engine: unit of type not found!
20081212 10:35:33 END: analyze_potential_recruit_movements() (took 77ms)
20081212 10:35:33 END: doing ai move (took 141ms)
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 316
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 349
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 598
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 951
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1152
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1153
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1154
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1155
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1156
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1163
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1164
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1165
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1166
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1167
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1168
20081212 10:35:33 debug engine: Delete unit 1169
20081212 10:35:33 error general: Error while playing the game: game_error: Unknown unit type '' while generating traits
20081212 10:35:33 info display: showing dialog 'Error' 'Error while playing the game: game_error: Unknown unit type ''
while generating traits'
I bet "Renevant" is actually a Revenant :geek:. Now, fixing seems to be complete - this should be fixed for green Draug side or similar error will appear when it tries to recruit.

jani
Posts: 38
Joined: October 26th, 2008, 9:40 am

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by jani »

fixed both still wont work :S

t3st3r
Posts: 53
Joined: September 21st, 2008, 8:54 pm

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by t3st3r »

You need to
1) Clear the cache (erase files in Wesnoth's cache directory, it located in "cache" directory in same tree as downloaded campaigns). So cache is forced to be rebuilded.
2) Restart this scenario (i.e. load save game from previous scenario so ).

Just in case, I attached my own 15_A_Daring_Rescue.cfg if needed. It surely works for me :wink:

I suggest campaign author to fix and re-upload this file.

As for me it looks like further campaigns are not well-polished yet. In addition to previous bugs I also noticed yet another bugs:
1) It looks like at least recalled mages (including Dillon itself) are not willing to level-up properly. They're not level up for unknown reason, experience reset and HPs added. That's all - they remain same L1 units :(.On older version of campaign played on 1.4.x leveling worked fine though so it may be somehow related to 1.5.6 itself?
2) There is some problem on "Orcish Supremacy" scenario. While on previous map there was full royal family (including Li'sar and Konrad), on this map looks like Konrad and Li'sar recall is not occured correctly.I can't see them and no comments given why they're not here so this not seems to be intended. However I can see some unknown fighter and fighteress guarded by royal guards. I can suspect they were supposed to be Konrad and Li'sar but actually they're level 1 units and have wrong names.
3) I also have peasant childs in recall list after "Old Enemies" is completed by killing necromancer while there were remaining childs.
Attachments
15_A_Daring_Rescue.cfg
(4.93 KiB) Downloaded 245 times

jani
Posts: 38
Joined: October 26th, 2008, 9:40 am

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by jani »

thnaks now it works and next scenario works too but orcish supremary wont work :S any idea whats wrong?

User avatar
TrashMan
Posts: 601
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by TrashMan »

I got that stupid

20081215 00:56:48 error engine: unit of type not found!
20081215 00:56:48 error general: Error while playing the game: game_error: Unknown unit type '' while generating traits

error in this campaign and in the Dedfaldors Memoairs. The campaign file should really be updated.
Light travels much faster than sound, that's why some people seem bright until you hear them speak.

>>> MY LITTLE LAB! <<<

User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by Turuk »

TrashMan wrote:Dedfaldors Memoairs
You are right about that error, I cannot imagine that people would ever make mistakes in spelling in all the WML they write in the campaign files.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time

User avatar
TrashMan
Posts: 601
Joined: April 30th, 2008, 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by TrashMan »

Were any unit names changed in 1.5.6.?

Cause right now I'm on mission 18 - Orcish supremacy - and the same error appears again. the scenario files calls for Goblin Impalers and Orcish Grunts, yet when I look under core/units there is no Goblin or Orcish. Just Grutn, Warrior, Impaler. It also calls for swordsmaen instead of Loyalist swordsmen etc.. I fixed what I could, but so far, it's still not working :P

How can one release a campaign without testing?
Light travels much faster than sound, that's why some people seem bright until you hear them speak.

>>> MY LITTLE LAB! <<<

AI
Developer
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: Campaign: Tale of a Mage

Post by AI »

TrashMan wrote:How can one release a campaign without testing?
Exactly as how one can make posts without proofreading them.

Post Reply