Wesnoth startup screen position

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
michaelbr
Posts: 30
Joined: April 18th, 2016, 1:32 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by michaelbr »

I'm not sure if this is a feature or it's my setting, everytime I start Wesnoth, it starts a little bit below my screen, and I have to drag it to the right position, it doesn't "remember" the last location, do I have to change some settings or I have to file a bug/feature report. I'm using Windows 10 and Wesnoth 1.12.6.
Thanks for your comment/suggestion.
Michael
User avatar
Zap-Zarap
Posts: 156
Joined: March 16th, 2015, 2:18 pm

Re: Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by Zap-Zarap »

I think, that is the Windows doing that. If there are more windows opened, it puts the new one somewhere, where it can find a free place. So this cannot be solved by Wesnoth, and there are no options to set for this.
I recommend playing on "fullscreen" anyway (that, yes, is an option). :D
I like beavers.
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by zookeeper »

I think it's been fixed in 1.13 so that the location is remembered.
User avatar
Zap-Zarap
Posts: 156
Joined: March 16th, 2015, 2:18 pm

Re: Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by Zap-Zarap »

My personal experience:
Win7 and 1.12.6 --> window appears on a random place on screen, sometimes only a small part of it visible (rest out-of-bounds).
Win7 and 1.13.8 --> window appears exactly centered in the middle of the screen (independet of size).
I like beavers.
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by zookeeper »

Zap-Zarap wrote:Win7 and 1.13.8 --> window appears exactly centered in the middle of the screen (independet of size).
Right, that's true. I assumed it remembered the position, because I keep the window maximized and thus the old annoying behaviour was gone.
User avatar
michaelbr
Posts: 30
Joined: April 18th, 2016, 1:32 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Wesnoth startup screen position

Post by michaelbr »

Thanks to all of you for the feedback, I'll await for the stable version of 13, in the mean time I'll just run it maximized as suggested by Zap-Zarap.
Thanks for your comment/suggestion.
Michael
Post Reply