The South Gaurd 'Normal' Setting

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Ludwig

The South Gaurd 'Normal' Setting

Post by Ludwig »

I'm fairly new to Wesnoth. I started playing "The South Gaurd" campaign. I just have a question about the game settings. Are they subjective? The choice is between easy and normal. 'Normal' is insane! I've been trying to work through the second scenario for quite a while now. I just found out about the replay option though. If I can't beat it, I might post a replay for some advice. :D
Dixie

Re: The South Gaurd 'Normal' Setting

Post by Dixie »

If it's your first time, you should definitely play "easy". Wesnoth could be qualified a "hardcore" game, in that while easy is easy, normal is signifancantly tougher, while in commercial games nowadays, normal is beatable on your first play through, easy is blatantly unchallenging and hard is (sometimes) hard. Wesnoth is not this way: I really recommend you play on easy a bit to learn the basic mechanics. Especially pay attention to terrain and time of day. Also (if it's your case), playing wesnoth as an RPG and focusing too much on levelled troops is an error: low-level cannon fodder is a must and is much more economic in the long run (although key higher-level units still have their uses).

I'm not a pro, though, so I'm jsut saying :)
Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny - Frank Zappa
Current projects: Internet meme Era, The Settlers of Wesnoth
Velensk
Multiplayer Contributor

Post by Velensk »