orcish fireline

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
Rocier
Posts: 16
Joined: September 25th, 2009, 5:14 pm

orcish fireline

Post by Rocier »

is this a new addition to the game? or is mine broken? i have it on default era. its a level 2 orc warrior unit
User avatar
Dixie
Posts: 1757
Joined: February 10th, 2010, 1:06 am
Location: $x1,$y1

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Dixie »

You mean the unit evolving from the orcish grunt? As far as I know, this unit is an addition first appearing in Achaic Era, but the autor from Ageless Era (which includes Archaic Era), has messed up some code, making it avaible in mainline. This however produces OOSes if playing a mainline game against someone who doesn't have Ageless, but I have reported this issue and it should be fixed in the next realeased of Ageless.
Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny - Frank Zappa
Current projects: Internet meme Era, The Settlers of Wesnoth
Rocier
Posts: 16
Joined: September 25th, 2009, 5:14 pm

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Rocier »

ah, i see. So i should not use this unit in standard games.
Sangel
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 2232
Joined: March 26th, 2004, 10:58 pm
Location: New York, New York

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Sangel »

Rocier wrote:ah, i see. So i should not use this unit in standard games.
Precisely. It will cause error messages to pop up everywhere, and prevent you from finishing your multiplayer match. You are of course free to use it in singleplayer, if that is your wont.
"Pure logic is the ruin of the spirit." - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
User avatar
ParadiseCity
Posts: 119
Joined: May 24th, 2009, 3:51 pm
Location: I'm not sure yet...

Re: orcish fireline

Post by ParadiseCity »

Something also worth noting is that having ageless era installed will cause OOS with lvl 1 grunts. If you have ageless era installed, and your opponent recruits a mainline grunt, then you get an OOS. While not a huge deal, it's problematic in competitive games (Because you effectively know when your opponent recruits a grunt). So if you are going to be playing ladder or other competitive games, you should not have ageless installed.
"The harder I work, the more luck I seem to have." -Thomas Jefferson
User avatar
Icarusvogel
Posts: 177
Joined: March 16th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Icarusvogel »

Do I understand this correctly: Even in the Standard Era, the grunt is changed if you have the Ageless Era installed? This seems strange.
You are a Necromancer - Intelligent and powerful, yet reclusive and misunderstood, you dabble in dark arts that everyone else can only dream of.
User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Captain_Wrathbow »

I would imagine it has something to do with a conflicting similar named unit in Ageless... :hmm: (I don't even play ageless though, so I'm just speculating.)
User avatar
ancestral
Developer
Posts: 1108
Joined: August 1st, 2006, 5:29 am
Location: Motion City

Re: orcish fireline

Post by ancestral »

Wesnoth BestiaryPREVIEW IT HERE )
Unit tree and stat browser
CanvasPREVIEW IT HERE )
Exp. map viewer
User avatar
mnewton1
Posts: 777
Joined: November 12th, 2008, 4:31 am
Location: On my pretty teal horsey.
Contact:

Re: orcish fireline

Post by mnewton1 »

I have fixed it. It will be in the next update. I used the advance_from tag so it affected to grunt. I forgot it would do that :oops:

I believe I am updating Ageless Era in the next few hours.
Creator of Ageless Era
Check out Frogatto & Friends, it's made by the same people who created The Battle for Wesnoth!
User avatar
Icarusvogel
Posts: 177
Joined: March 16th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Re: orcish fireline

Post by Icarusvogel »

Oh, good. Maybe I will take a look at the Ageless Era now.
You are a Necromancer - Intelligent and powerful, yet reclusive and misunderstood, you dabble in dark arts that everyone else can only dream of.
Post Reply