Why Do I Need To Compile?

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

LoveNeko

Why Do I Need To Compile?

Post by LoveNeko »

I'm still new to wesnoth.

just a simple question, why is compilation necessary?
AI
Developer

Re: Why Do I Need To Compile?

Post by AI »

It is not, but depending on the OS you're running, there may not be a binary ready for you yet, meaning you'll have to compile your own if you want to run the latest version.
LoveNeko

Post by LoveNeko »

AI wrote:It is not, but depending on the OS you're running, there may not be a binary ready for you yet, meaning you'll have to compile your own if you want to run the latest version.
oh oh. i have Mac Os X 10.4.11/tiger. how do i know if i need to compile?
i just downloadd BfW today.
Helmet

Post by Helmet »

Compiling is an option put into place for those people who know what compiling is and how to do it and why. So, about 1% of the people, I guess. :P

Whenever I've downloaded the game on a Mac or PC, it always works--no compiling necessary. Just pick the correct download for your computer's operating system and you're fine. I use the same OS as you and I didn't need to compile anything. I created a folder called Battle for Wesnoth in the Applications folder, then dragged all the downloaded stuff into it, and that's it.

I think it's confusing that the website locates the "source code" links above all the downloads, as if it's something you should do first. Personally, I would put the "source code" links it at that bottom with some text explaining what it is, so people can ignore it. I was likewise confused by it, at first.
Author of:
DIY Campaign, Confederacy of Swamp Creatures: Big Battle 1, Confederacy of Swamp Creatures: Big Battle 2, Frogfolk Delivery Service, The Pool of Ek.
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director

Post by thespaceinvader »