Version 0.4.4

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Version 0.4.4

Post by Dave »

Okay, a new version with lots of minor fixes.

http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/files/wesnoth-0.4.4.tar.gz

Now level 'hard' is tough :-)

If you can complete scenario 1 on 'hard' you're.....good. I have managed to do it once, but only by the skin of my very teeth.

I am hoping to release a Windows binary for version 0.4.5.

Changelog:
- fixed assertion failure if you try to start a campaign and then cancel on the difficulty level settings
- added 'merge_translations' tool which will merge an old version of a foreign language translation to the current English translation, making a new translation that has foreign language strings where they are available, and English strings otherwise
- fixed crash if you opened a menu that had some empty strings in it (for instance clicking preferences in the French version)
- changed recruitment so that now a leader can only recruit if they are on a starting location. They can recruit units on any vacant castle tile connected to the starting location they are on. The player can choose a location to recruit onto by selecting it when accessing the recruit menu. TODO: Need a graphic to distinguish the starting hex from other castle hexes
- changed maximum items displayed in a menu before up/down buttons appear from 10 to 18
- fixed bug in scenario 8 where objectives would not be displayed
- fixed bug in scenario 9 where major characters could die without loss
- changed it so that when writing a configuration file, [/element-name] will be used to end an element instead of [end]
- fixed corrupted save file bug reported by miyo
- made the White Mages that join you in level 7 leave you at the end of the level, as they are meant to.
- changed advancement animation colour to black for chaotic units
- made it so that when an AI-controlled unit moves, its details are displayed on the sidebar, as suggested by miyo
- implemented algorithm so that if an AI is moving and the map has to be scrolled, frames will be skipped if necessary to make the AI moving at a decent speed
- added Danish translation
- added improved French translation
- made it so that if you mouse-over a unit, it will be displayed in the unit details on the sidebar
- changed healing so that a healer can only heal up to 12 hitpoints per turn. Added animations and sound effects to healing.
- added in AI type 'guardian', which is a unit that will stay in position until enemies come in range at which point it attacks. Now in scenario 3 there is a cage with many mermen in it that has 2 naga guardians around it.
- added scenario 10 provided by Shroud and scenario 11 provided by fmunoz
- added in test version of a naming algorithm that will automatically name created units that was submitted as a patch by a wesnoth user.
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

Please provide a way to shorten downloads

Post by zas »

Either provide a differential patch
against previous version or split wesnoth ie. in following packages:

- engine source code, main stuff
- maps and scenarii
- images
- sounds (make it optionnal)

Thanks :)
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

Compilation error

Post by zas »

map.cpp: In method `gamemap::gamemap(config &, const string &)':
map.cpp:133: warning: comparison between signed and unsigned
map.cpp:134: warning: comparison between signed and unsigned
map.cpp: In method `bool gamemap::is_starting_position(const gamemap::location &) const':
map.cpp:186: `::find' undeclared (first use here)
map.cpp:187: warning: control reaches end of non-void function `gamemap::is_starting_position(const gamemap::location &) const'
make: *** [map.o] Error 1
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

Compilation fixes

Post by zas »

map.cpp missing header:
#include <algorithm>

namegen.cpp missing header:
#include <cstdio>
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Had no troubles compiling.

OS: Debian GNU/Linux (Sid)
SDL: 1.2.5
GCC: 3.2.2
glibc: 2.3.2

- Miyo
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Okay, I have added those headers to the source files in my devel version.

David
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

Long startup time

Post by zas »

wesnoth takes a long time to start, eating almost all CPU time (on a P4 1.8Mhz), consumption starts after Initialized true type fonts message, and stops at main menu (title) (with the patch i sent to David.)

What is eating my CPU time ? ;)
Any idea ?
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

A hint

Post by zas »

It seems there's a bad loop somewhere:

ltrace.log:3007186:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138412) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007192:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138413) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007198:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138414) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007204:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138415) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007210:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138416) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007216:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138417) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007222:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138418) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007228:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138419) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007234:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138420) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007240:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138421) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007246:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138422) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007252:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138423) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007258:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138424) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007264:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138425) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007270:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138426) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007276:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138427) = 0x40610008
ltrace.log:3007282:memcpy(0x40632008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138428) = 0x40632008
ltrace.log:3007288:memcpy(0x40610008, "[multiplayer]\n\tname=The Isle of "..., 138429) = 0x40610008


obtained by ltrace -o ltrace.log ./wesnoth
gthen grep -n '\[multiplayer\]' ltrace.log
it's a truncated log.
there's a repeated memcpy(), copying each time one byte more ....

i suspect config loading code.
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Version 0.4.4

Post by miyo »

Has the difficulty level problem (normal vs medium) that was in 0.4.3 been fixed? At least it is not in Changelog.
Dave wrote: If you can complete scenario 1 on 'hard' you're.....good. I have managed to do it once, but only by the skin of my very teeth.
Savegame (replay) is here
Dave wrote: - TODO: Need a graphic to distinguish the starting hex from other castle hexes
Start WesnothTODO (or something like that) in our Wiki and put it there *grin*
Dave wrote: - made it so that when an AI-controlled unit moves, its details are displayed on the sidebar
Does not always work. It sticks with some unit that has moved even though other units are moving.
Dave wrote: - implemented algorithm so that if an AI is moving and the map has to be scrolled, frames will be skipped if necessary to make the AI moving at a decent speed
It could use more aggressive frame skipping in turbo mode [1]... don't move the screen in "small chunks" makes it hurt my eyes... instead move it in "large chunks" (1/3 or even 1/2 screen widht/height at a time).

[1] I think 'accelerated' sounds/is better than 'turbo' *grin*

- Miyo
Last edited by miyo on September 4th, 2003, 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Almost forgot:

* playtested Scenario 1 (difficulty; Champion)
* tested middle-game save (loaded without replay)
* tested end of scenario save (and load)

All working fine this far.

- Miyo
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

miyo wrote:Almost forgot:

* playtested Scenario 1 (difficulty; Champion)
* tested middle-game save (loaded without replay)
* tested end of scenario save (and load)
So does this mean you actually managed to defeat scenario 1 on Champion? :-) On your first attempt? If so, I'm impressed!

@zas: I will look into what's causing high CPU usage.

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Dave wrote: So does this mean you actually managed to defeat scenario 1 on Champion? :-) On your first attempt? If so, I'm impressed!
Yes, I did complete Scenario 1 on first try
http://www.sgic.fi/crossbow/wesnoth/Scenario1Turn11.gz

Want to play against me in the PBEM? *grin*

- Miyo
zas
Posts: 54
Joined: August 25th, 2003, 9:58 pm
Location: France

bridge terrain modifiers ??

Post by zas »

In scenario 1, there's a bridge, but there's no terrain modifier for bridge AFAIK.
Did i miss something ?
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

@miyo: impressive! Whoever does play you in the PBEM will have a tough fight on their hands! :)

@zas: Bridge is same as grassland. Same as 'dirt' and 'road', which are also same as grassland. Just having lots of grassland everywhere looks boring, so we add new terrain types that are the same as grassland but look different. We may need a way to make it more clear what the equivalent terrain type is though.

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Dave wrote: @miyo: impressive! Whoever does play you in the PBEM will have a tough fight on their hands!
In Scenario 1 (difficulty: hard) speed is the essence... recruits are to provide a shield... a tunnel for Konrad to walk freely to the sign.

Multiplayer games are about total control (?)... I am not so good with those... I am more familiar/interested in small unit tactics (less possibilities to analyze).

- Miyo
Post Reply