Compile Fail: Wesnoth with Boost 1.76.00

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

erc_the_orc

Compile Fail: Wesnoth with Boost 1.76.00

Post by erc_the_orc »

I spent the last 4 days trying to compile Wesnoth 1.14.17 on my Ubuntu 20.04LTS system. I finally succeeded a couple of minutes ago.

I think there's a problem with the Boost 1.76.00 libraries, but I'm not a programmer and can't confirm it. Compiling _always_ failed on the wesnoth.c source file when I was using Boost 1.76.00 on my Ubuntu 20.04LTS machine. When I manually deleted most of the 1.76.00 installation and used Ubuntu's 1.71.00 version instead, the program compiled without errors.

Here's a single line from the more than 100 lines of errors generatee by the linker. It may provide a clue as to what is happening, with the error message bolded:

wesnoth.cpp:(.text+0x1156): undefined reference to `boost::iostreams::detail::bzip2_base::bzip2_base(boost::iostreams::bzip2_params const&)'

I installed scons to see if I would get the same error, and sure enough, scons generated a similar error on its conftest_10.cpp test file:

conftest_10.cpp:(.text._ZN5boost9iostreams6detail21bzip2_compressor_implISaIcEEC2ERKNS0_12bzip2_paramsE[_ZN5boost9iostreams6detail21bzip2_compressor_implISaIcEEC5ERKNS0_12bzip2_paramsE]+0x23): undefined reference to `boost::iostreams::detail::bzip2_base::bzip2_base(boost::iostreams::bzip2_params const&)'

I saved text files of the error messages...I think they're too long to post to the forum.

My suspicion? Boost 1.76.00 changed something in its IOSTREAMS headers (which is where bzip2 and other compression methods are defined) that affects the way that the bzip2 library gets turned from a placeholder into a filename.