Battle for Wesnoth Flatpaks are not running

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
Rusty3
Posts: 2
Joined: December 23rd, 2020, 5:28 pm

Battle for Wesnoth Flatpaks are not running

Post by Rusty3 »

Hello Everyone,

I have the following problem:
The flatpaks of Battle for Wesnoth do not start. If I click on the icon in my applications menu. nothing happens. If I run it with the Terminal, I get the error code "wl_drm@21: error 2: invalid name". I know it is an error with Wayland and the Direct Rendering Manager, but I do not know what the error means. There also is an error with pulseaudio's missing user .config file, but the effect is unknown to me. My other flatpaks seem to work fine. I am not sure if this is an error with the flatpaks of BfW or with flatpak in general.
My operating system is Fedora 33. I am using the GNOME interface.
I will add the verbose output of the terminal (With the flatpak from dl.flathub.org). I also found some error in the protocol.
I would really like to play BfW 1.14., because at the moment, I can only play BfW 1.15. (with an existing RPM), which has way fewer add-ons than BfW 1.14. And at the moment, I am not having enough nerves for learning how to compile.
Can somebody please help or explain what to do? Or tell me who to contact about this?

How to reproduce:
1. Install one of the two flatpaks of Battle for Wesnoth. Either the one from registry.fedoraproject.org (some BfW 1.15 version) or from dl.flathub.org (BfW 1.14.14).
2. Start Battle for Wesnoth, either by clicking on the icon, or by running it with the Terminal

What I tried:
- changing resolution mode when starting it from the Terminal
- reinstalling the flatpak
- allowing the socket=wayland (I later realised that it was useless, the socket is already enabled)
The verbose output of the Terminal:
flatpak run -v org.wesnoth.Wesnoth
F: No installations directory in /etc/flatpak/installations.d. Skipping
F: Opening system flatpak installation at path /var/lib/flatpak
F: Opening user flatpak installation at path /home/rusty/.local/share/flatpak
F: Opening user flatpak installation at path /home/rusty/.local/share/flatpak
F: Opening system flatpak installation at path /var/lib/flatpak
F: Opening user flatpak installation at path /home/rusty/.local/share/flatpak
F: Opening system flatpak installation at path /var/lib/flatpak
F: Cleaning up unused container id 1785177615
F: Allocated instance id 601016702
F: Add defaults in dir /org/wesnoth/Wesnoth/
F: Add locks in dir /org/wesnoth/Wesnoth/
F: Allowing dri access
F: Allowing wayland access
F: Allowing pulseaudio access
F: Pulseaudio user configuration file '/home/rusty/.config/pulse/client.conf': Fehler beim Öffnen der Datei »/home/rusty/.config/pulse/client.conf«: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
F: Running 'bwrap --args 35 xdg-dbus-proxy --args=37'
F: Running 'bwrap --args 35 wesnoth'
Battle for Wesnoth v1.14.15
Started on Thu Dec 24 14:11:00 2020


Data directory: /app/share/wesnoth
User configuration directory: /home/USER/.var/app/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/config/wesnoth
User data directory: /home/USER/.var/app/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/data/wesnoth/1.14
Cache directory: /home/USER/.var/app/org.wesnoth.Wesnoth/cache/wesnoth

Setting mode to 1280x720
wl_drm@21: error 2: invalid name
The error in the protocol:
16:06:02 systemd: app-flatpak-org.wesnoth.Wesnoth-2867.scope: Succeeded.
16:06:02 gnome-shell: WL: error in client communication (pid 2890)

16:06:02 gnome-shell: WL: error in client communication (pid 2890)

16:06:02 gnome-shell: meta_window_set_stack_position_no_sync: assertion 'window->stack_position >= 0' failed
16:06:01 systemd: Started app-flatpak-org.wesnoth.Wesnoth-2867.scope.
Regards and Thanks in Advance,
Rusty3
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4625
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Battle for Wesnoth Flatpaks are not running

Post by Pentarctagon »

Please provide the information listed here as well. Beyond that, you could try the 1.15 flatpak from here or try getting it through Steam which has both 1.14 and 1.15 available.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
Rusty3
Posts: 2
Joined: December 23rd, 2020, 5:28 pm

Re: Battle for Wesnoth Flatpaks are not running

Post by Rusty3 »

Pentarctagon wrote: December 24th, 2020, 5:18 pm Please provide the information listed here as well. Beyond that, you could try the 1.15 flatpak from here or try getting it through Steam which has both 1.14 and 1.15 available.
What information is missing exactly? Sorry, if I missed something.
Not sure if I want to install the Nightly Build, when I can already play BfW 1.15 with the RPM.
Probably going to try Steam now.
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4625
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Battle for Wesnoth Flatpaks are not running

Post by Pentarctagon »

Sorry, I was thinking the build information, but of course you wouldn't be able to get to that if Wesnoth immediately crashes.

As for the error, the best I can find is that this is a bug in mesa and-or wayland, based on this comment.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
Post Reply