Crash on filtered dismiss

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
vghetto
Posts: 200
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 5:12 pm

Crash on filtered dismiss

Post by vghetto »

Hi,

Wesnoth is crashing with segmentation fault or other times with an abort when dismissing units on a "filtered" recall list.
This is happening in 1.14.14 and 1.15.5

To recreate, click on recall, search of a trait and dismiss all of the units with that trait until the list is empty.
Click on dismiss or rename one more time and it will crash or abort.

If you don't do a search first and dismiss, the recall dialog window closes on dismissing the last unit. This is the expected behavior.

Attached is a demo that produces the crash

Feel free to open a ticket on github if one doesn't exist already. I'm having trouble logging into github atm.
Attachments
_main.cfg
(1.72 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 4536
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Crash on filtered dismiss

Post by Pentarctagon »

Opened as #5171.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
vghetto
Posts: 200
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 5:12 pm

Re: Crash on filtered dismiss

Post by vghetto »

Thank you!
Note clicking on rename with a cleared list is also problematic.
vghetto
Posts: 200
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 5:12 pm

Re: Crash on filtered dismiss

Post by vghetto »

Wesnoth seems to handle well when filtering on recruiting. If you open the recruit dialog and then search for a non-existing thing and press recruit, it will just say "No unit recruited." in a translucent dialog.
Perhaps make the dismiss and rename do the same instead of worrying about disabling or greying out the buttons.
Post Reply