I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
mule
Posts: 1
Joined: December 1st, 2019, 4:17 pm

I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by mule » December 1st, 2019, 4:23 pm

wesnoth.png
wesnoth.png (196.82 KiB) Viewed 393 times
the problam is from the hebrew translation, i would prefer to play in english but without proper menus i cant change the launguge

User avatar
Ravana
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2262
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by Ravana » December 1st, 2019, 4:39 pm

Press L, choose language, and enter.

User avatar
gaojicainiao
Posts: 49
Joined: August 11th, 2018, 10:46 am
Location: 中华人民共和国(The People's Republic of China)
Contact:

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by gaojicainiao » December 1st, 2019, 10:13 pm

I know little about programs, so usually I feel mystical to some problems of programs.
If I choose English or other western languages that look like not square blocks (running on Windows), then the languages look like square blocks(Asian languages such as Chinese and Japanese) can not display correctly. But when it runs on GNU/Linux, it has no such problem.
A maintainer of an unofficial Chinese wesnoth forum.
唯爱北民,却是菜鸟。( I love northerners only. However, I'm a noob...forever.)
请中国玩家访问我为你做的非官方帮助网页。( Chinese players, please visit the unofficial help page I made for you. )

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 4093
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by Pentarctagon » December 1st, 2019, 10:43 pm

What operating system is this?

(also, moved to Technical Support)
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

shevegen
Posts: 235
Joined: June 3rd, 2004, 4:35 pm

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by shevegen » December 3rd, 2019, 11:06 pm

> Press L, choose language, and enter.

I don't think this helps. Why?

First - newcomers won't know this. I did not know either. But how many MORE will not come to the forum and read it?
So these may not want to try the game again (perhaps their loss, but this is also about making a good first
impression.)

It also does not solve the original issue. That issue should simply not show up at all.

IMO it may be best to start with the english languagee by default, and then display some additional language
interface picker, which could guess for the most likely top 5 languages of the user (perhaps also including
environment variables and such). Not gonna lie - that is an interface problem indeed so mule has a point.

Personally my native language is german (the true german though, aka not the one used in Germany) but
I always play english; my whole Linux system is set up to work with english too. I get confused when my
native language is used for the interface. I imagine that something similar could happen with chinese
or japanese symbols, so IMO that should be redesigned eventually. Or perhaps it'll be done for the godot
port, who knows.

User avatar
Ravana
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2262
Joined: January 29th, 2012, 12:49 am
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by Ravana » December 3rd, 2019, 11:19 pm

I agree. Though this detection was added as feature, so it is unlikely to be reverted.

User avatar
octalot
Developer
Posts: 420
Joined: July 17th, 2010, 7:40 pm

Re: I downloaded battle for wesnoth today and i got a game bvreaking glitch

Post by octalot » December 4th, 2019, 1:01 am

shevegen wrote:
December 3rd, 2019, 11:06 pm
my native language is german ... PC also set up for English
Do you know why it chose Hebrew? If it had chosen German or English then I might understand, but choosing a different language sounds like a bug on top of the font problems.

For 1.16, the design has changed to using a globe button instead: #4568.

Post Reply