[SOLVED] Map Editor only..

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
Retributive
Posts: 47
Joined: February 20th, 2009, 12:45 pm
Location: Bordeaux, FRANCE.

[SOLVED] Map Editor only..

Post by Retributive » July 9th, 2019, 7:20 am

Is it possible to launch the Map Editor WITHOUT the game ?

Thank you for reading me..
Friendly yours,
Retributive.
Last edited by Retributive on July 10th, 2019, 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
EarthCake
Posts: 327
Joined: March 29th, 2019, 1:57 pm
Location: Westeros, Winterfell

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by EarthCake » July 9th, 2019, 10:22 am

On 1.12 this was possible. Maybe try to launch it with commands?

User avatar
josteph
Developer
Posts: 631
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by josteph » July 9th, 2019, 11:08 am

wesnoth --editor

Retributive
Posts: 47
Joined: February 20th, 2009, 12:45 pm
Location: Bordeaux, FRANCE.

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by Retributive » July 9th, 2019, 2:20 pm

Sorry, I'm not familiar with commands...

User avatar
josteph
Developer
Posts: 631
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by josteph » July 9th, 2019, 3:00 pm

How do you normally launch wesnoth? What platform are you on (Windows/Mac/Linux? Steam?)?

Retributive
Posts: 47
Joined: February 20th, 2009, 12:45 pm
Location: Bordeaux, FRANCE.

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by Retributive » July 9th, 2019, 5:16 pm

Windows 10...

gnombat
Posts: 215
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 8:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by gnombat » July 10th, 2019, 1:01 pm

On Windows you can copy and edit the program shortcut. In the Start menu, right-click "Battle for Wesnoth" and select "Open file location".

start-menu.png

This will display a folder listing.

shortcut.png

Right-click "Battle for Wesnoth" and select "Copy". Then right-click on your desktop and select "Paste shortcut". Now right-click the new shortcut and select "Properties". Finally, in the "Target" field add a space and then --editor. Click OK.

properties.png

Now if you double-click the shortcut, it should launch the editor.

Retributive
Posts: 47
Joined: February 20th, 2009, 12:45 pm
Location: Bordeaux, FRANCE.

Re: Map Editor only..

Post by Retributive » July 10th, 2019, 2:00 pm

Magical ! Thank you very much gnombat !
(and josteph ;) )

Friendly yours,
Retributive.

User avatar
josteph
Developer
Posts: 631
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Map Editor only..

Post by josteph » July 10th, 2019, 7:24 pm

Very detailed explanation, gnombat :) Can we add gnombat's post to one of the stickies? It's a pretty frequent question, albeit with a different argument each time.

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3947
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: [SOLVED] Map Editor only..

Post by Pentarctagon » July 11th, 2019, 12:20 am

josteph wrote:
July 10th, 2019, 7:24 pm
Very detailed explanation, gnombat :) Can we add gnombat's post to one of the stickies? It's a pretty frequent question, albeit with a different argument each time.
Did you have one in mind?
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

User avatar
josteph
Developer
Posts: 631
Joined: August 19th, 2017, 6:58 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Map Editor only..

Post by josteph » July 11th, 2019, 8:49 am

No, I didn't have a particular one in mind. Not sure where it would fit, either. I'd just like to be able to find that post again easily when I ask someone to "Run wesnoth with --log-debug=ui" or whatever other flag.

Post Reply