Wesnoth not updating

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
User avatar
A Guy
Posts: 790
Joined: May 24th, 2008, 1:55 am

Wesnoth not updating

Post by A Guy »

I'm sorry I don't have much information on the problem... But I am using Battle for Wesnoth 1.8.3 and it stopped updating after I alter an add-on. Usually the problem goes away when I clear the cache, but it didn't work this time. May someone please offer suggestions on something else I could try?
I'm just... a guy...
I'm back for now, I might get started on some work again.
HomerJ
Posts: 812
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 1:22 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: Wesnoth not updating

Post by HomerJ »

A Guy wrote:I'm sorry I don't have much information on the problem...
Well you could try to figure out your operating system for starters... :wink:
A Guy wrote: But I am using Battle for Wesnoth 1.8.3 and it stopped updating after I alter an add-on.
May I also suggest clearing this up a little more... I suppose you are talking about the addon-update function when you access the add-on server, so what happens?


Greetz
HomerJ
Six years without a signature!
User avatar
A Guy
Posts: 790
Joined: May 24th, 2008, 1:55 am

Re: Wesnoth not updating

Post by A Guy »

Ah, I forgot. I'm using Windows XP.

Anyways, I fixed the problem by reinstalling BfW.
I'm just... a guy...
I'm back for now, I might get started on some work again.
User avatar
PsychoticKittens
Posts: 573
Joined: May 29th, 2006, 8:49 pm

Re: Wesnoth not updating

Post by PsychoticKittens »

to clear up what he was saying; his wesnoth wasn't rechecking his cache or whatever. So changes to his files weren't affecting his tests of the code, when they would've fixed problems he'd noted.
Creator of: Mercenaries Era; Modern Combat
Future Projects: Faunima: Land of Monsters
Temporarily Dropped Projects: Zombie Horde
User avatar
its_crunchtime
Posts: 7
Joined: July 24th, 2010, 6:58 pm

Re: Wesnoth not updating

Post by its_crunchtime »

I have the same problem as A Guy, I was wondering if on windows if you always must reinstall the game every update? :?
What would you attempt to do if you could not fail?
User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: Wesnoth not updating

Post by Captain_Wrathbow »

Um, what else are you going to do?

I suppose you're asking if there's a way to auto-update or download only the changed/updated/new parts. I'm afraid the answer to that is no.

So yes, you need to re-download and re-install every time there's a new release, if you care about staying on the latest version.

BTW, OS has nothing to do with it. It's like that on every platform.
Post Reply