Intesive crashing

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
Skyhunter
Posts: 15
Joined: March 14th, 2007, 9:10 pm

Intesive crashing

Post by Skyhunter »

1.3 Rise of wesnoth i think
Scenario Temple of the deep

When fighting the bad lich in scenario, every time lich or unit near him kill one of my dudes the game crashes.

They killed before I camed to the lich and it haven't crashed, throught the whole cave, and i replayed it a lot of times. It starts crashing as soon as i get closer to the lich and one of my units die.

It crashes exatcly upon death of my unit every time. and it ocurres every time, offcourse when near lich.

ok

User avatar
Sapient
Inactive Developer
Posts: 4453
Joined: November 26th, 2005, 7:41 am
Contact:

Post by Sapient »

sounds evil... now you know why nobody messes with liches 8)

I tested using liches and ancient liches, and it works for me. That might have been related to ICC color profiles in some images.
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/User:Sapient... "Looks like your skills saved us again. Uh, well at least, they saved Soarin's apple pie."

BreadMan
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2007, 11:53 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Post by BreadMan »

Hello, I have been having this same problem. It always occurs 10-15 turns into the scenario, and it is always during the enemy's movement phase, after I've pressed the end turn button. Game freezes for a second and then crashes to desktop. It may be, as suggested, a problem with the Lich as I have yet to see him appear and it is always once my units are nearing the northern edge of the map where I presume he is located. Maybe there is a problem loading his graphics or some other aspect. What are these ICC color profiles?

stderr.txt:

Code: Select all

Battle for Wesnoth v1.3.1
Started on Sun Apr 22 14:50:23 2007

started game: 0
Checking video mode: 1152x864x32...
32
setting mode to 1152x864x32
error general: Using the single letter map format is deprecated
locale could not be determined; defaulting to system locale
WARNING: setlocale() failed for .
set locale to 
found valid cache at 'F:/GAMES/Wesnoth/userdata/cache/game.cfg-cache-v1.3.1-MEDIUM-NORMAL' using it
loadscreen: filesystem counter = 100
loadscreen: binarywml counter = 12370
loadscreen: setconfig counter = 223
loadscreen: parser counter = 216
started music
2634
showing title screen...
2634
Loading tips of day
title screen returned result
error general: Using the single letter map format is deprecated
locale could not be determined; defaulting to system locale
locale could not be determined; defaulting to system locale
locale could not be determined; defaulting to system locale
locale could not be determined; defaulting to system locale
found valid cache at 'F:/GAMES/Wesnoth/userdata/cache/game.cfg-cache-v1.3.1-CAMPAIGN_THE_RISE_OF_WESNOTH-MEDIUM-NORMAL' using it
scenario: 'Temple_in_the_Deep'
has snapshot: yes
setting replay to end...
error display: could not open image ''
Milliseconds to save: 407
Milliseconds to save: 395
error display: could not open image 'attacks/.png'
Milliseconds to save: 438
Milliseconds to save: 383

User avatar
Mist
Inactive Developer
Posts: 753
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 8:44 am
Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Post by Mist »

I think this problem is fixed now and will be corrected in next development relase (1.3.2, precise date still not set but might be somewhere next week)
Somewhere, between the sacred silence and sleep.
Disorder.

SkeletonCrew
Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

Yes the Lich had problems, which especially on Windows seemed to lead to crashes. I fixed that problem in 1.2.4 and for 1.3.2. Please report if it still happens with 1.3.2 which will, like Mist said, probably be next week.

[edit]
It was a code bug which caused it not ICC profiles.
[/edit]

BreadMan
Posts: 9
Joined: April 16th, 2007, 11:53 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Post by BreadMan »

Ah great, thanks. I was able to eventually get through the scenario just by loading the most recent auto-save after each crash, as it seemed to be a random occurence.

Post Reply