[Historical] Campaign-Rebirth of the North

This is the place for discussing development of mainline campaigns, reporting bugs in them and providing overall feedback.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Locked
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

Ok back from holidays :( :P Anyhow, I still haven't been able to check out the game killing error in 9.2. I am using Mac OSX 10.3.4 and 9.2 hasn't been working too good on them. You seemed to have found the problem with this campagin and fixed it scott. Maby you could let me know what I have to do to make it work for everyboy else.

Oh and people, every campaign develper LOVES feedback. If you like it let me know, if you hate it, let me know too.
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
Rhuvaen
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1272
Joined: August 27th, 2004, 8:05 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Post by Rhuvaen »

The {GOLD} and {TURNS} macros use a different number of arguments that you use in your campaign. Check those macros in one of the games config files (util.cfg, game.cfg, those sort of things).

I would love to try your campaign but I'm not going to fix it by hand before being able to run Wesnoth after downloading it... unlike scott :wink:
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

Ok, the problem with the {TURN} and {GOLD} marcos is that there are four argumants instead of three. The reason is that I wanted to add an extra difficuty to my campagin, impossible. I just havn't had the time to figure it out untill now. I got the marco progrmed alright and when I replace the regualr "Turn" and "Gold" marcos in the "util.cfg" file in the wesnoth directory the thing works fine. So the marco works fine but I can't seem to get the marco to work whenever I place it in any other file or directory. Here is my code:
#macro to define a 'quantity' differently based on difficulty levels
#define QUANTITY ATTRIBUTE ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
#ifdef EASY
{ATTRIBUTE}={ON_EASY}
#endif

#ifdef NORMAL
{ATTRIBUTE}={ON_NORMAL}
#endif

#ifdef HARD
{ATTRIBUTE}={ON_HARD}
#endif

#ifdef IMPOSSIBLE
{ATTRIBUTE}={ON_IMPOSSIBLE}
#endif
#enddef

#macro to define AI attack depth for different difficulty levels
#define ATTACK_DEPTH ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY attack_depth {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef


#macro to define number of turns for different difficulty levels
#define TURNS ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY turns {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

#macro which will let you go {GOLD x y z} to set
#the gold depending on easy/medium/hard - x/y/z

#define GOLD ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY gold {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

#define INCOME ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
#ifdef EASY
income={ON_EASY}
#endif

#ifdef NORMAL
income={ON_NORMAL}
#endif

#ifdef HARD
income={ON_HARD}
#endif

#ifdef IMPOSSIBLE
income={ON_IMPOSSIBLE}
#endif
#enddef


Where should I put it in order to get it to work? Can anybody help?
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
fmunoz
Founding Artist
Posts: 1469
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 10:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by fmunoz »

JUst rename them to RON_SOMESTUFF, otherwise you are definig them twice (You'll have to change them in your scenarios too)
After that try to put them in your utils.cfg file(the one included in all scenarios)

Code: Select all


#ifdef IMPOSSIBLE
{ATTRIBUTE}={ON_IMPOSSIBLE}
#endif
#enddef

#macro to define AI attack depth for different difficulty levels
#define RON_ATTACK_DEPTH ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY attack_depth {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

#define RON_TURNS ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY turns {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

#define RON_GOLD ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY gold {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

#I changed this one to use the same convention as the others one
#If it doenst work just change back but kkep then name as RON_INCOME
#define RON_INCOME ON_EASY ON_NORMAL ON_HARD ON_IMPOSSIBLE
{QUANTITY income {ON_EASY} {ON_NORMAL} {ON_HARD} {ON_IMPOSSIBLE}}
#enddef

 
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

Ok, I got your code and mate a utils.cfg file and foulder and added the path "{@campaigns/Norther_Rebirth/utils}" to the main ".cfg" file. I copyed and pasted your code into the file and still no go. What exactally do I have to do to the scenarios?
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
scott
Posts: 5243
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: San Pedro, CA

Post by scott »

Could you post what you have? I would rename ALL the macros to something different, even {QUANTITY}. However, I think the simplest thing for you to do, Taurus, is to NOT ADD any more macros, but do something like this in each scenario file:

Code: Select all

{GOLD 250 180 120}
#ifdef IMPOSSIBLE
gold=20
#endif
and

Code: Select all

{TURNS 50 40 30}
#ifdef IMPOSSIBLE
turns=20
#endif
It's not sexier, but it's simpler and more likely to work.
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

scott man! You are da bomb! Thanks a lot! The "Impossible" level is finally working! Ok, I am uploading 0.5.10 on the server right now. Can anyone tell me if this fixes the game killing error? I still havn't managed to get 9.2 working on my computer (well, I just havn't upgrated to Mac OSX 10.3.9 yet so....) so I can't tell myself.
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
scott
Posts: 5243
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: San Pedro, CA

Post by scott »

clearing the mines, line 65 has a 4-argument macro you overlooked. Otherwise it works ok now. Nice splash graphic! Was it from a Blender contest or something?
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

scott wrote:clearing the mines, line 65 has a 4-argument macro you overlooked. Otherwise it works ok now. Nice splash graphic! Was it from a Blender contest or something?
Ok, fixed and uploading as I type. Let me conform, it is fully functional (with no errors or anything) on 9.2? About the splash graphic thanks. I got it from a site on the internet, whose creaters kindly let me use it :)
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
scott
Posts: 5243
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: San Pedro, CA

Post by scott »

1. Yes and 2. cool.
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

A new scenario, “Settling Disputes� (0.6) is now on the server. If anyone has any questions, comments, suggestions or criticizms just let me know.
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
claus
Posts: 186
Joined: April 4th, 2005, 5:51 am

Post by claus »

Some comments on the campaign:
I think the first two scenarios are good, the third one is currently boring (the enemy recruits only 5 units and then thinks he has enough scouts, which leads to his death with about 400 gold left (playing on easy difficulty, recruitment_pattern=scout or [ai] recruitment_ignore_bad_combat=yes [/ai] inside the [side] tag might prevent this)), scenario 4 is to big (it becomes boring because everything takes so long) and scenario 5 is good again (Malifor should not be allowed to recruit, or some of his guards might spawn in cave wall, which could lead to problems for the player(attack from a unexpected direction), the gold is a bit extreme and the guards (especially the last guards) too). Scenario 6 (Old Friend) seems to be even bigger than 4 (did not start it yet)

I think using [store_unit] to change Tallin to Lieutnant is better than [kill] and [unit] (will allow him to keep the wand if he has it and to keep his xp, adding some if cases, if Tallin allready has a higher level might be good too)
Code:
[store_unit]
description=Tallin
variable=typechange
[/store_unit]
[set_variable]
name=typechange.type
value=Lieutenant
[/set_variable]
[unstore_unit]
variable=typechange
[/unstore_unit]
{CLEAR_VARIABLE typechange}

If you want the if cases replace [set_variable] name=typechange.type value=Lieutnant [/set_variable] with (example):
[if]
[variable]
name=typechange.type
equals=Peasant
[/variable]
[or]
[variable]
name=typechange.type
equals=Spearman
[/variable]
[/or]
[or]
[variable]
name=typechange.type
equals=Bowman
[/variable]
[/or]
[then]
[set_variable]
name=typechange.type
value=Lieutnant
[/set_variable]
[/then]
[else]
[set_variable]
name=typechange.type
value=General
[/set_variable]
[/else]
[/if]
(A new [if] between [else] and [/else] is possible)
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

Thaks for the feedback claus. Look out for version 0.6.1, I'll probobally apply a lot of your suggestions.
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
unsung
Posts: 708
Joined: May 15th, 2005, 5:54 pm
Location: Raging somewhere..

Post by unsung »

you mean northern rebirth right?
the first mission is impossible. there is no way my peaseants are ever going to kill a warlord. yes I have tried leveling up myu men and Ive even gotten to the opoint where most of his were dead.
Oh no look out its a ray gun.
You should move to avoid the rays
the rays are coming out of the gun
if you are hit by the rays
you will be shot by the rays
the rays are fast so you should be fast to
can you win against the fast rays from the gun?
fmunoz
Founding Artist
Posts: 1469
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 10:04 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by fmunoz »

You have to use your zero upkeep peasants to seize the villages unitll you orcs swamped..
and if a warlord moves out of his keep .. place there a peasant or two or three... so you deny him recruit...
Soon you will have them sorrounded, nibbling their health away
Locked