Newbie wants tips

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

hillbillypriest

Newbie wants tips

Post by hillbillypriest »

I'm new to wesnoth(started yesterday) and would like to know some general stratagies and tips. Also, I'd like to see a general overview of each race or faction and stratagies I can use with each. Thanks. 8)
shevegen

Post by shevegen »

- Dont let wounded units die UNLESS you have a reason to do so, like
delaying another army, or making enemy unit chase this wounded unit
- Take full advantage of units that cant defend, like ranged vs melee units.

- Dont forget to enter villages, it will give you extra money. In some scenarios this
is very helpful, so i usually have few scouts that do this task.
scott

Post by scott »

Never attack at night if you're lawful and vice-versa.
Never attack from low defense terrain. If necessary, wait.
Don't try to fight with scouts.
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.
hillbillypriest

Post by hillbillypriest »

I'd really like to know more about the different factions and their strength's/weaknesses. keep em coming!
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus

Post by irrevenant »

http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/AdvancedTactics#See_Also has race specific tips for Northerners and Undead.
toms

Post by toms »

Look on "10 hints to play Wesnoth" :)
(It´s also translated)
First read, then think. Read again, think again. And then post!
dvlenk6

Post by dvlenk6 »

Nose around in the .cfg data files of the game (WESNOTH/data), if you really want to find out the strengths and weaknesses.

-multiplayer.cfg - lists the factions for each era. What and how they recruit.
-units.cfg - shows movement, defense, and resistance info for each movement type.
-WESNOTH/data/units - the goodies on every 'standard' unit is here.
Dragonking
Inactive Developer

Post by Dragonking »