Is lieutenant overpowered?

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Yes.
9%
A little bit
23%
No.
45%
I don't know/I have no opinion
23%

Total votes: 22

Elder2

Post by Elder2 »

When playing a Ladder 1v1 match I have heard some players talk about Lieutenant being too strong, is this true? What do you guys think?
ForPeace

Re: Is lieutenant overpowered?

Post by ForPeace »

Lieutenant has two big advantages: 6mp and leadership but it's compensated with low 40 hp.
To me it's the second strongest loyalist leader, after Red Mage. (And drake leaders are stronger than both)

I think the discussion regarding overpowered leaders goes in the wrong direction. Leaders should be strong to let the players use their potential. I would rather discuss strengthening the underpowered leaders.
Polish BfW fansite | Polish BfW translation | My Ladder profile

"When I say I've been playing for 10 years people come saying they've played for 15 years and that I know nothing about this game because I didn't use to play when the TRUE pros were playing xD" ~Hejnewar
patience_reloaded

Post by patience_reloaded »

Disclaimer: I'm not a good player, and can only compare stats.
I'll try to compare the lieutenant to some units I think are comparable.
Spoiler:
Oh, and another little thing: If you were playing a ladder match, they could have been talking about ladder era, which I'm not familiar with. It's possible that this makes a difference.
ForPeace

Post by ForPeace »

patience_reloaded wrote: August 11th, 2020, 8:40 am I'll conclude my little analysis with the answer: Lieutenant isn't too strong compared with the other leadership leaders, also, he's not too strong compared to the other default loyalist leaders. I don't consider him as too strong, UNLESS the value of the leadership ability to the loyalist faction is considerably higher than to the rebel or drake faction.