Optimization Discussion - Legend of the Invincibles

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

MarvinToran

Optimization Discussion - Legend of the Invincibles

Post by MarvinToran »

The Wesnoth forum discussion on this campaign is absolutely bonkers and has mostly troubleshooting in it. I want to talk about reasonably (not min maxing, but possibly farming items) obtaining an optimal unit. I’m new to the campaign and trying to gauge how best to proceed.

Gear: Is arcane resist really important? It seems like some units have enough easy stats that if you can stack arcane resist they have no weaknesses.

Is there a near final build with craftable items that just trumps everything?

What are the irreplaceable support items for people like leaders or bestowing backstab?

Units: assuming you want less units but better ones which are good? Are poacher or elf units good candidates for item maxing because of their good base attacks for multipliers?
Whiskeyjack

Re: Optimization Discussion - Legend of the Invincibles

Post by Whiskeyjack »

In the first post of the LotI thread, you can find links to a number of resources (e.g., available items). You can also find a link to this page, where some people eternalized some of their coolest units. Note that because of changes and nerfs some (or all) of these units might not be build-able like that anymore.

Now to the strongest unit: This somewhat depends on your definition of "strong" - do you just want the highest damages possible? A unit that is unbeatable? A unit that can solo levels by themselves?