I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
Post Reply
Tet
Posts: 391
Joined: February 18th, 2009, 5:11 am

I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by Tet » October 19th, 2013, 1:24 pm

This is not all true. I got a unknown scenario error too. Of course that was useless too.

Please check it out. From main.cfg line 30 it includes story. in line1 it is missing variable. In line one is textdomain nicely defined. Like everybody is doing it. I am searching for hours! I just edited an existing campaign which did work before.


Help, I need somebody help. <- (beattles)
error.jpg
My Temple Project: http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=29800
This is "must-play" campaign! Don´t read the thread, unless you need help. http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31895

User avatar
bumbadadabum
Developer
Posts: 1005
Joined: March 20th, 2008, 5:54 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by bumbadadabum » October 19th, 2013, 1:32 pm

Can you post the contents of story.cfg?

User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9740
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by zookeeper » October 19th, 2013, 2:18 pm

And _main.cfg.

Tet
Posts: 391
Joined: February 18th, 2009, 5:11 am

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by Tet » October 19th, 2013, 2:20 pm

Sure can, bad I was thinking more like screwed up file or folder name. But I did not find. I deleted a lot of files which i did not use before. They were in this error line before. I am thinking maybe the order of loading files makes it not working. As I said. At one point I got unknown szenario error instead without changing something. Needless to say the szenario is there and the name is not misspelled.

Code: Select all

#textdomain wesnoth-Beancooler

# this file contains the introductions to each scenario

#define 01_STORY
    [story]
        # wmllint: local spelling 
        [part]
            background=portraits/beancooler-moonbase/transparent/rebel-1.png
            story= _ "bla"
        [/part]
        [part]
            background=portraits/beancooler-moonbase/transparent/rebel-1.png
            story= _ "bla"
        [/part]
	[/story]
#enddef

Code: Select all

#textdomain wesnoth-Beancooler
[textdomain]
    name="wesnoth-Beancooler"
    path="data/add-ons/Beancooler/translations"
[/textdomain]

[campaign]
    id=Beancooler
	rank=1
    name= _ "Beancooler"
    abbrev= _ "BEAN"
    define=CAMPAIGN_BEANCOOLER
    icon="data/add-ons/Beancooler/images/units/beancooler-moonbase/rebel-1.png~RC(magenta>red)"
    image="data/add-ons/Beancooler/images/story/campaign-image.png"
    first_scenario=01_beancooler
    difficulties=EASY,NORMAL,HARD
    difficulty_descriptions={MENU_IMG_TXT2 "data/add-ons/Beancooler/images/units/beancooler-moonbase/rebel-2.png~RC(magenta>red)" _"You get 9" _"(Easy)"} +
    ";*" + {MENU_IMG_TXT2 "data/add-ons/Beancooler/images/units/beancooler-moonbase/trooper-2.png~RC(magenta>green)" _"You get 6" _"(Normal)"} +
    ";" + {MENU_IMG_TXT2 "data/add-ons/Beancooler/images/units/beancooler-moonbase/trooper-1.png~RC(magenta>red)" _"You get 3" _"(Hard)"}
    description= _ "A rebel moon base is invaded by imperial troops.

" + _"(beginner level, 1 scenario.)"
[/campaign]

#ifdef CAMPAIGN_BEANCOOLER

[binary_path]
    path=data/add-ons/Beancooler/
[/binary_path]
{~add-ons/Beancooler/utils/}
{~add-ons/Beancooler/terrain/}
{~add-ons/Beancooler/scenarios/}
[+units]
    {~add-ons/Beancooler/units/beancooler-moonbase}
[/units]

#endif
My Temple Project: http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=29800
This is "must-play" campaign! Don´t read the thread, unless you need help. http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31895

User avatar
SkyOne
Posts: 1310
Joined: January 3rd, 2009, 7:23 pm

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by SkyOne » October 19th, 2013, 4:53 pm

Looks like you need to post the scenario file also (or entire campaign).
There are some parts of code that you don't have to put to show the images as well, but I don't think they cause to a major error.
Is there {01_STORY} correctly on your scenario?
Fate of a Princess/feedback thread: "What is in own heart that is the most important, not who you are."
Drake Campaign: Brave Wings/feedback thread, Naga Campaign: Return of the Monster, Saurian Campaign: Across the Ocean
Northern Forces - now on 1.12 server

Tet
Posts: 391
Joined: February 18th, 2009, 5:11 am

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by Tet » October 19th, 2013, 5:23 pm

I did take the story macro out of the scenario and saved the file in util as txt and deleted the cfg. Thus the offending file was gone. The scenario should have started, but the error must be something else. A typo in files and folder names? I did not see any. If I start new, does Wesnoth is refreshing completely? Even with Win8?
error2.jpg
My Temple Project: http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=29800
This is "must-play" campaign! Don´t read the thread, unless you need help. http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31895

User avatar
SkyOne
Posts: 1310
Joined: January 3rd, 2009, 7:23 pm

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by SkyOne » October 19th, 2013, 6:37 pm

As far as I think, your main file doesn't carry a major error, just making some missing images. So the error is from the other file(s). (I guess the scenario file.)
Tet wrote:If I start new, does Wesnoth is refreshing completely? Even with Win8?
I think so.


EDIT:
For example, this is a campaign using your main file without any touches, combining with a scenario and a map from A Simple Campaign, and it works.
Attachments
Beancooler.zip
(17.35 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
Fate of a Princess/feedback thread: "What is in own heart that is the most important, not who you are."
Drake Campaign: Brave Wings/feedback thread, Naga Campaign: Return of the Monster, Saurian Campaign: Across the Ocean
Northern Forces - now on 1.12 server

Tet
Posts: 391
Joined: February 18th, 2009, 5:11 am

Re: I tried to make campaign, but all I got is this error

Post by Tet » October 19th, 2013, 8:44 pm

I am looking into that tomorrow. My impression is that maybe a macro in a totally different folder is off. Or that a word does trigger a macro for some other reasons somewhere else. So whatever the error code is giving is not helpful. I might just start from scratch.
My Temple Project: http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=29800
This is "must-play" campaign! Don´t read the thread, unless you need help. http://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=31895

Post Reply