Variables Question

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
DEATH_is_undead

Variables Question

Post by DEATH_is_undead »

OK, I never really needed to set my own variables in a map, so I'm fairly new to setting them. It's a simple variable I'm trying to do just to push the boundaries of WML knowledge.
All I'm trying to do is make it so that when a unit dies, it adds one to the variable.
I set the variable as bats to start with :

Code: Select all

[set_variable]
name=bats
value=0
[/set_variable]
Now, since I have the variable made, I shall add one each time a bat is killed.

[event]
name=die

[filter]
type=Vampire Bat,Dread Bat,Blood Bats
[/filter]

[set_variable]
name=bats
add=1
[/set_variable]

[/event]
Using :debug feature in-game, I decided to check this to see if it was working before I continued to make the last part. Obviously it hasn't worked, and seeing variables are...varying... I haven't found a link to help me with what I'm planning to do.

EDIT: I found that only side 1 is able to change the variable for some reason, even though I don't have a filter set to just side 1, nor any other side for this matter.
EDIT2: Found that first_time_only wasn't set to no.

(I haven't even attempted to make the last part yet; making an event fire after a variable reaches a certain number. I'm going to use this thread to help with that as, if needed be.)
Last edited by DEATH_is_undead on July 25th, 2011, 8:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
3P MP Scenario - Great Dwarves Escape
The best way to learn is to follow. In order to learn WML, you have to follow other's work, and check their codes.
zookeeper
WML Wizard

Re: Variables Question

Post by zookeeper »