Framework

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
aaronfeld

Framework

Post by aaronfeld »

I was wondering if some one could give me like a list, well an order really of things to do when making a campain. First I'm into story making yet this is my first time making anything with WML so...My _main CFG file is pretty much done so then I see the Utils and I'm not sure which one I need cuz there different each in each campain I look at and I'm not sure what some of them do. I'm still learning all together so just keep that in mind so when you go off on how this varibal effects this unit at this x,y point and stuff like that.

Thanks
Luroch_Delkar
Location: Some people are in homes, some are in cars, I am in-sane.

Re: Framework

Post by Luroch_Delkar »

After your _main.cfg you should make a scenarios folder. In it you should make your first scenario file.

There are so many tags that do so many different things that I could not list them all. Nor should I since they can all be found, with a bit of searching, on the wesnoth Create page. http://wiki.wesnoth.org/ReferenceWML is a good place to look for most tags but the first page you should look at is http://wiki.wesnoth.org/BuildingScenariosSimple.

The latter will give you the framework that you are looking for.

As to Utilities, I do not think you need them unless you plan on making macros.
When you want to do the same or similar thing many times making a macro can save you from writing a large amount of code more than once.

e.g to make a macro you would write:

Code: Select all

#define I_PLACE_CHEST X Y
[item]
x={X}
y={Y}
image=items/chest-plain-closed.png
[/item]
[event]name=moveto
[filter]
x={X}
y={Y}
[/filter]
[removeitem]
x={X}
y={Y}