"acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Discussion of all aspects of the website, wiki, and forums, including support requests and new ideas.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
gnombat
Posts: 254
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 8:49 pm
Contact:

"acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by gnombat »

If I try inserting an acronym using the exact example provided in the acronym button tooltip, it doesn't work (it just inserts raw BBCode):

[acronym=Acronym's Meaning]AM[/acronym]

If I try inserting it without the apostrophe character, it works:

AM

User avatar
Iris
Site Administrator
Posts: 6603
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: "acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by Iris »

This is something we cannot trivially fix without opening us up to malicious uses of the tag, unfortunately.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.

Tad_Carlucci
Developer
Posts: 489
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 4:18 pm

Re: "acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by Tad_Carlucci »

At least change the example when you hover over the Full Editor button to not include the apostrophe.
I forked real life and now I'm getting merge conflicts.

Post Reply