"acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Discussion of all aspects of the website, wiki, and forums, including support requests and new ideas.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
gnombat
Posts: 162
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 8:49 pm
Contact:

"acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by gnombat » January 4th, 2019, 9:58 pm

If I try inserting an acronym using the exact example provided in the acronym button tooltip, it doesn't work (it just inserts raw BBCode):

[acronym=Acronym's Meaning]AM[/acronym]

If I try inserting it without the apostrophe character, it works:

AM

User avatar
shadowm
Site Administrator
Posts: 6505
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: "acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by shadowm » January 5th, 2019, 2:23 am

This is something we cannot trivially fix without opening us up to malicious uses of the tag, unfortunately.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Elsewhere: shadowmBlogFollow me on Twitter

Tad_Carlucci
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: April 24th, 2016, 4:18 pm

Re: "acronym" BBCode does not work as advertised

Post by Tad_Carlucci » January 5th, 2019, 8:25 am

At least change the example when you hover over the Full Editor button to not include the apostrophe.
I forked real life and now I'm getting merge conflicts.

Post Reply