Unit price balancing

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

AAAAAAA

Unit price balancing

Post by AAAAAAA »

Hey everyone, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but it seems closest. Hopefully I'm in the right place?

Anyway, I've been working on making a few new units for a campaign, and I was wondering if there are any guidelines for pricing units based on their abilities and general power level, or if I should just make it up and test until I get it right, or what? I'm very new to Wesnoth in general and WML in particular, I'm afraid, so this question might be a bit more stupid than I intended. If I need to supply more information about the units in question, let me know and I'll post the code.
Atreides
Location: On the 2nd story of the centre village of Merwuerdigliebe turning the lights on and off

Re: Unit price balancing

Post by Atreides »

AAAAAAA wrote: June 13th, 2021, 8:45 pm Hey everyone, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but it seems closest. Hopefully I'm in the right place?

Anyway, I've been working on making a few new units for a campaign, and I was wondering if there are any guidelines for pricing units based on their abilities and general power level, or if I should just make it up and test until I get it right, or what? I'm very new to Wesnoth in general and WML in particular, I'm afraid, so this question might be a bit more stupid than I intended. If I need to supply more information about the units in question, let me know and I'll post the code.
I made a formula for the cost. It's crude but it seems to sort of work. I came up with it by assuming cost was relative to 3 main factors. HP, Moves and Maximum Damage from attacks. I weighted them until they roughly seemed to correspond to some mainline units. Later on I added multipliers for weapon specials and abilities.