Arena Games

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

lord_midnight

Arena Games

Post by lord_midnight »

I have played Tactics Arena Online almost daily for over 4 years. I have put hours into working on units and ideas that will never be implemented there. I am Lord Ash on the forums there, just search CAU(create a Unit) in Legendsforums.com for my works, there are pages and pages of writing. I am so glad to have found Wesnoth, a place where I can bring in my creativity, and have it used for something. I want to make games for a living, preferably my own games. I love the Wesnoth requires you to Learn Something about making games to use the editors and such.

In the interest of Learning WML, and the basics, I want to make a small add-on. consisting of some small, skirmish scale matches, in an Arena. Call it an homage to another great game, call it whatever, i just think it would be cool. I want to get used to balancing, attaching scripts, and How Things Work in Wesnoth. So, a set of Maps, and a "Faction" or "Era" to control Units, so there is not too much disadvantage. Here Goes:

Arena

Maps:

Orcish Proving Ground
indoor, cave and lava type.
HighlandPass
outdoor, Mountain,
DeepHollow Woods
outdoor, Forest
Shifting sands
outdoor, desert
GreatHall of Legend
indoor, tilefloor type
The Great Pit
large indoor Battle ground, for more than 1vs1

Faction, or Era
no I don't mean a big add-on one, but when I was playing High Seas(thx bob) I didnt need to download anything. I mean a Faction(I think), that gives you a subset of units. I would just be picking from the default Era for now, so everyone will have everything. I think I want it where you pick a leader, then everyone can recruit from the same list, keeps it fair.

Units Allowed