[engine] Extend weapon syntax for multiple weapon type series in same attack

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
WhiteWolf
Forum Moderator

[engine] Extend weapon syntax for multiple weapon type series in same attack

Post by WhiteWolf »

Hello,

First let me start by saying that I am by no means a combat expert, and this is just my "Hollywood-infected" view of the technical details of armed fights :)
I think it would enrich Wesnoth's combat system, and open up room for some very interesting combos, to allow an attack to have multiple weapon types.

Motivation
The easiest example is a sword. Why is 99% of the type blade attack (1% someone tries pierce in UMC), when in reality it's a combination of the two, "parry, cut, parry, thrust", as you'd say? Hell, you could even use half-swording and use it as an impact attack. Of course this needs training and thus heavily depends on the unit, so I am not saying anything like this should be implemented in existing mainline units, I only wish for the option to create such units, that can use a combination of weapon types, thanks to their training/vigilance.

Implementations
The aim then is to define what type=blade,pierce,impact would mean for the game, and I multiple ideas with pros and cons.
  • The first is that the definition should be a comma separated list that describes the attack type of each consecutive strike. In the example above, the first strike would deal blade damage if hit, the second would deal pierce damage, the third impact. In a type=cold,cold,fire example the first hit would deal cold damage, so would the second, and the third would be fire. What if the number of attacks is higher than the length of this list? It should rewind from the start. type=blade,pierce with number=4 would mean blade,pierce,blade,pierce.