[interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
Post Reply
gnombat
Posts: 706
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 8:49 pm

[interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by gnombat »

Basically, the idea is that the WML tag [url=https://wiki.wesnoth.org/InterfaceActionsWML#.5Bset_menu_item.5D]set_menu_item[/url] should add new menu items to the bottom of the context menu rather than the top.

Adding a menu item at the top (the current behavior) moves all other menu items away from their expected locations; for example, the "Undo" menu item is usually at the top, but when set_menu_item is used the new menu item shows up in the place where "Undo" usually is, so it is easy to click the new item by mistake when intending to click "Undo". This would not happen if the new menu item were added to the bottom of the menu.

This page has a good description of usability issues when adding menu items to an existing menu (warning: may contain strong language):

https://www.jwz.org/blog/2013/10/how-to ... menu-item/
gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1432
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: [interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by gfgtdf »

Iirc you can change the position of the wml menu items in the rght click menu by editor the cfg file of the default theme, no guarentee though.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gnombat
Posts: 706
Joined: June 10th, 2010, 8:49 pm

Re: [interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by gnombat »

gfgtdf wrote:Iirc you can change the position of the wml menu items in the rght click menu by editor the cfg file of the default theme, no guarentee though.
Yes, editing data/themes/default.cfg works (tested in 1.13.4):

Code: Select all

[menu]
    is_context_menu=true
    items=wml,undo,redo,...,delayshroud,updateshroud
[/menu]
Move wml to the end of the list:

Code: Select all

[menu]
    is_context_menu=true
    items=undo,redo,...,delayshroud,updateshroud,wml
[/menu]
User avatar
GunChleoc
Translator
Posts: 506
Joined: September 28th, 2012, 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: [interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by GunChleoc »

I think that's a good idea :)
User avatar
pauxlo
Posts: 1047
Joined: September 19th, 2006, 8:54 pm

Re: [interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by pauxlo »

I usually only ever use the context menu for custom menu items. For the default stuff I use keyboard shortcuts.
gfgtdf
Developer
Posts: 1432
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: [interface] Add new menu items to bottom of context menu

Post by gfgtdf »

same as pauxlo, since the custom menu items are the most used menu items here, i think they should stay at the top of the list.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
Post Reply