AI points system

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
TheLost1

AI points system

Post by TheLost1 »

I would like to propose that, in order to improve the AI, there is a points system initiated. Eve though I am not a programmer it seems easy to implement because it is based on variables. The system would work something like this:

1) During every turn, the AI assigns a value to each unit. it would assign these points based on normal damage dealing ability(without modifers), max hit points, current experience(or maybe experience needed), and proximity to strategic terrain(Explained later). Leaders would have the highest value. This will show the AI what enemy units it should kill, as well as what units it should retreat.

2) Each unit will also have a danger value based on the terrain it stands on, its current HP, and its current damage dealing ability. This will show the AI which units to avoid and which units to defend with.

A note on strategic terrain: Strategic terrain is based on the advantage it will give to both the player and The AI. a Dwarf AI will place great value on Mountains while a Elf AI will go for Forests. If they were both playing against each-other, both AI's would "Realize" that mountains and forests were valuable to each-other and fight over them.

I hope that people will give advice to this idea and eventually it might be implemented in a streamlined form.
The dragons are all colour-coded,
Some consider this system outmoded.
This was not preordained
Gary Gygax explained,
"My box of Crayolas exploded."
Dacyn

Post by Dacyn »

isn't this basically how the AI already works?
(actually, unit values are currently based only on cost, but I don't see why your system would be better...)
Jester

Post by Jester »

Dacyn wrote:isn't this basically how the AI already works?