Need linux/apache help seting up a website.

The place for chatting and discussing subjects unrelated to Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Computer_Player
Multiplayer Moderator

Need linux/apache help seting up a website.

Post by Computer_Player »

Hi, I am currently trying to install Koha (a library management system) through windows subsystem for linux 1 (WSL1). However being a complete noob with linux and apache, I hit a road block. I've tried asking in other places, but haven't had luck so far (or replies for that matter) so please, I know the wesnoth community will not let me down!

I followed the instructions here: https://wiki.koha-community.org/wiki/Koha_on_Debian and managed to get up to installing apache2.
I then set up the domain through virtual hosts using this: https://wiki.koha-community.org/wiki/Ho ... e_for_Koha. So debian /etc/hosts file was setup correctly.

I also input the wifi ip and domain in the windows /etc/hosts file.

However when I try to access it through the browser Firefox says "Connection was reset." localhost works correctly (showing apache default page) however when I input the ip of the website directly, it loads the default apache2 web page instead.

apache2ctl -S shows the proper domain (rootfile) relationships:

VirtualHost configuration:
*:80 is a NameVirtualHost
default server LAPTOP.localdomain (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default.conf:1)
port 80 namevhost LAPTOP.localdomain (etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default.conf:1)
port 80 namevhost library.mydomain.org (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/library.conf.:4)
port 80 namevhost library-intra.mydomain.org(/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/library.conf:22)

apache2/error.log shows the following whenever I try to connect through browser:
[timestamp] [mpm_itk:warn] [pid 82] (itkmpm:pid=82 uid=33, gid=33) itk_post_perdir_config() : initgroups(library-koha), 1001) : Operation not permitted
[timestamp] [mpm_itk:warn] [pid 82] Couldn't set uid/gid/priority, closing connection.