Map Editor problem?

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
PapaSmurfReloaded
Posts: 574
Joined: November 17th, 2007, 1:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Map Editor problem?

Post by PapaSmurfReloaded » May 13th, 2018, 4:07 pm

It seems that now it is impossible to to zoom out a map enough to see it in its entirety. That's quite inconvenient. :cry:
18th Century Warfare Era, try it out!
A Random RPG Adventure, play it!
Infantry Wars Era, give it a shot!
Zombie Apocalypse RPG, run for your life!

User avatar
beetlenaut
Developer
Posts: 2218
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 3:21 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by beetlenaut » May 13th, 2018, 5:06 pm

All of these work for me: Pressing "-" a few times, hitting "0", and clicking the magnifying glass near the minimap. (The last two toggle between 1:1 and whatever you last used, but by default, that is considered to be zoomed all the way out.)
Campaigns: Dead Water
The Founding of Borstep
Secrets of the Ancients

enclave
Posts: 842
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 8:52 am

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by enclave » May 13th, 2018, 5:22 pm

also u may play with resolutions... looks like with large resolutions and disabling DPI scaling u may achieve cool results even without zoom out lol

User avatar
PapaSmurfReloaded
Posts: 574
Joined: November 17th, 2007, 1:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by PapaSmurfReloaded » June 10th, 2018, 5:12 pm

I just can't zoom out large maps (like 120x80).
At max it shows 25% of the map.
18th Century Warfare Era, try it out!
A Random RPG Adventure, play it!
Infantry Wars Era, give it a shot!
Zombie Apocalypse RPG, run for your life!

User avatar
beetlenaut
Developer
Posts: 2218
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 3:21 am
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by beetlenaut » June 10th, 2018, 5:36 pm

Oh, I see. There is a minimum zoom level. How much of the map you can see at that zoom level will depend on the resolution of your screen I guess. The minimum probably could be reduced pretty easily, so you should file a bug report or at least a feature request.
Campaigns: Dead Water
The Founding of Borstep
Secrets of the Ancients

Shiki
Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: July 13th, 2015, 9:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by Shiki » June 10th, 2018, 7:35 pm

One can take a map screenshot though. The hotkey is by default not active, you must give it a key first (same for normal screenshots)
Maintainer of Era of Myths.
Introduction to WML filtering and WML variables.

User avatar
PapaSmurfReloaded
Posts: 574
Joined: November 17th, 2007, 1:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by PapaSmurfReloaded » June 10th, 2018, 9:07 pm

That is not the issue, the issue that without being able to zoom out the map, it is possible to copy maps from images. :|
Possibly I'll have to download a previous version of wesnoth to do it.
18th Century Warfare Era, try it out!
A Random RPG Adventure, play it!
Infantry Wars Era, give it a shot!
Zombie Apocalypse RPG, run for your life!

enclave
Posts: 842
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 8:52 am

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by enclave » June 11th, 2018, 10:58 am

PapaSmurfReloaded wrote:
June 10th, 2018, 9:07 pm
Possibly I'll have to download a previous version of wesnoth to do it.
I still have 1.10 and 1.12 :) I think it's better never delete them, you never know what you may need from old version some times :)
About copying maps, Choicerer sometimes does map copying, but he uses tiles codes instead of image.. So as far as I understand he is able to copy maps from other applications or online content possibly. Ask him for details if interested..

Shiki
Developer
Posts: 227
Joined: July 13th, 2015, 9:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by Shiki » June 11th, 2018, 1:43 pm

I think we talk about the same thing. If you take a "map screenshot" you have an image of the whole map, including units and items.

With "map screenshot" I mean a function of wesnoth itself taking the screenshot instead of some third party screenshot tool:
Attachments
map-screenshot.png
Maintainer of Era of Myths.
Introduction to WML filtering and WML variables.

User avatar
PapaSmurfReloaded
Posts: 574
Joined: November 17th, 2007, 1:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by PapaSmurfReloaded » June 11th, 2018, 2:18 pm

It is not a map a screenshot that I need.
I use zooming out completely for making maps.

viewtopic.php?t=46590
18th Century Warfare Era, try it out!
A Random RPG Adventure, play it!
Infantry Wars Era, give it a shot!
Zombie Apocalypse RPG, run for your life!

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 938
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by vultraz » June 11th, 2018, 5:10 pm

You should be able to edit the zoom levels in data/game_config.cfg.
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

User avatar
PapaSmurfReloaded
Posts: 574
Joined: November 17th, 2007, 1:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Map Editor problem?

Post by PapaSmurfReloaded » June 11th, 2018, 8:15 pm

vultraz wrote:
June 11th, 2018, 5:10 pm
You should be able to edit the zoom levels in data/game_config.cfg.
Adding a 0.05, 0.10 at the beginning of the zoom levels line solved it xD
18th Century Warfare Era, try it out!
A Random RPG Adventure, play it!
Infantry Wars Era, give it a shot!
Zombie Apocalypse RPG, run for your life!

Post Reply