Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
OutOfCyan
Posts: 1
Joined: August 26th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by OutOfCyan » August 26th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Is there a way, by compiling wesnoth with a certain flag, or setting a certain option, that I can get rid of Planning Mode entirely?

Earlier today, I was playing a networked game on my LAN and somehow entered planning mode. After I disabled planning mode from the context menu, one of my units was moved to a horrible location and I was unable to undo the move.

I never, ever want to use planning mode. I don't care what it's for, I just want it gone. Is there some way I can disable it?

User avatar
ancestral
Developer
Posts: 1107
Joined: August 1st, 2006, 5:29 am
Location: Motion City
Contact:

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by ancestral » August 26th, 2012, 9:55 pm

That would be something excellent to have an option for to turn off in Preferences in game.
Wesnoth BestiaryPREVIEW IT HERE )
Unit tree and stat browser
CanvasPREVIEW IT HERE )
Exp. map viewer

User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
Posts: 1037
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by Celtic_Minstrel » August 27th, 2012, 12:43 am

I really have no idea what it's for. It doesn't really make a lot of sense to me. That said, I think I recall entering it, fake-moving a unit, and leaving planning mode again, and the fake-move remained onscreen where I could still delete it. So I'm a little confused how you managed to make this mistake.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.

User avatar
ancestral
Developer
Posts: 1107
Joined: August 1st, 2006, 5:29 am
Location: Motion City
Contact:

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by ancestral » August 27th, 2012, 1:54 am

It's really too easy to activate planning mode by mistake with p being the hotkey, especially if you are typing messages with other players and forget to press m. Absolute recipe for disaster.
Wesnoth BestiaryPREVIEW IT HERE )
Unit tree and stat browser
CanvasPREVIEW IT HERE )
Exp. map viewer

JaMiT
Developer
Posts: 511
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 12:38 am

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by JaMiT » August 27th, 2012, 3:35 am

OutOfCyan wrote:Is there a way, by compiling wesnoth with a certain flag, or setting a certain option, that I can get rid of Planning Mode entirely?
I am pretty sure there is no such option. It might be good to find out how you accidentally turned the mode on, though. Should I assume that you already disassociated the hotkey for it? (It seems that way since you used the context menu to turn planning mode off.)

ancestral wrote:It's really too easy to activate planning mode by mistake with p being the hotkey,
Remove the hotkey if it is more problematic than helpful.

tuggyne
Posts: 76
Joined: May 22nd, 2011, 5:52 am

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by tuggyne » August 27th, 2012, 3:46 am

Celtic_Minstrel wrote:I really have no idea what it's for. It doesn't really make a lot of sense to me. That said, I think I recall entering it, fake-moving a unit, and leaving planning mode again, and the fake-move remained onscreen where I could still delete it. So I'm a little confused how you managed to make this mistake.
Yeah, I use Whiteboard/planning a good bit (mostly in fog/shroud, where I wouldn't be able to undo anyway), and whenever I switch out all planned moves stay planned until I hit y/Ctrl-y.

I'd think disabling the hotkey(s) would be good enough for most purposes, though. (If you include the ones for finalizing moves, you'll be even safer.)

User avatar
Kanzil
Posts: 288
Joined: June 14th, 2012, 4:09 pm

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by Kanzil » August 27th, 2012, 6:52 am

Perhaps it would be easier if some of the hotkeys were explained in the tutorial? Just saying they exist, and where to change/find them might be the easiest solution. It might also be good to explain planning mode as well in the tutorial, as it can be quite bewildering.
High over valleys in the red levelling rays -
In din of crowded streets, going among the years, the faces,
May I still meet my memory in so lonely a place
Between the streams and the red clouds, hearing the curlews, Hearing the horizons endure.

JaMiT
Developer
Posts: 511
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 12:38 am

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by JaMiT » August 29th, 2012, 12:12 pm

tuggyne wrote:[...] and whenever I switch out all planned moves stay planned until I hit y/Ctrl-y.
Planned moves are also executed when you end your turn.


(Side note: In this respect, planning mode can be more convenient when giving multiturn movement orders. If you click for a multiturn move without planning mode on, the future moves are made at the start of your turn. If you turn on planning mode while plotting a mutliturn move, you have a chance to cancel it in a future turn -- before it gets executed for that turn. If you want to let the move proceed, you can just ignore it and let it execute when you end your turn.)

tuggyne
Posts: 76
Joined: May 22nd, 2011, 5:52 am

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by tuggyne » August 30th, 2012, 8:33 am

JaMiT wrote:
tuggyne wrote:(Side note: In this respect, planning mode can be more convenient when giving multiturn movement orders. If you click for a multiturn move without planning mode on, the future moves are made at the start of your turn. If you turn on planning mode while plotting a mutliturn move, you have a chance to cancel it in a future turn -- before it gets executed for that turn. If you want to let the move proceed, you can just ignore it and let it execute when you end your turn.)
Now that I did not know. Learn something new every day, I guess! :eng:

Olix
Posts: 3
Joined: December 2nd, 2011, 11:25 am

Re: Optional "no planning mode" setting?

Post by Olix » October 8th, 2012, 9:48 am

Planning mode is really handy in multiplayer games. When I play 2v2, its really useful for coordinating with my team mate. It's also useful for examining the Zone of Control (and where enemies can move to) after I move a bunch of units.

It could be better though. It would be nice if there was a stronger graphical representation of when it was active - for instance, replacing a lower part of the side bar with a list of all queued movements (and the order in which they execute) would be very useful.

Post Reply