Can't start the game - Log relocation failed [solved]

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
Azurech
Posts: 2
Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 6:30 am

Can't start the game - Log relocation failed [solved]

Post by Azurech » June 23rd, 2018, 6:36 am

Hi,

I tried to play the game via Steam (same error if I download it via the website) and I get the following error instantly when I try to start it.
  • I use Windows.
  • I don't have OneDrive activated.
---------------------------
Battle for Wesnoth
---------------------------
Log relocation failed.

Runtime error: Permission denied (13)
New log file path: C:\Users\XXX\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14/logs/wesnoth-20180623-082828-10064.log
Old log file path: NUL

This may indicate an issue with your Wesnoth launch configuration. If the problem persists, contact the development team for technical support, including the full contents of this message (copy with CTRL+C).
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
How can I solve this?
I have seen that my Documents directory is read-only.
Last edited by Azurech on June 23rd, 2018, 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pentarctagon
Forum Administrator
Posts: 3458
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: Can't start the game - Log relocation failed

Post by Pentarctagon » June 23rd, 2018, 7:13 am

It seems like it could be anti-virus causing it to be read-only as well.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code

Azurech
Posts: 2
Joined: June 23rd, 2018, 6:30 am

Re: Can't start the game - Log relocation failed [solved]

Post by Azurech » June 23rd, 2018, 7:18 am

Pentarctagon wrote:
June 23rd, 2018, 7:13 am
It seems like it could be anti-virus causing it to be read-only as well.
Oh why I havn't thought about it :? Thought via Steam something like this doesn't happen.

Works now! Thanks

Post Reply