Wesnoth 1.14.1

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

enclave
Posts: 728
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 8:52 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by enclave » May 12th, 2018, 5:26 pm

EnergiaX wrote:
May 12th, 2018, 11:59 am
Why is not there all add-on?
I this version wesnoth (on steam) i must install add-on.[even though I have an earlier version 1.12]
in add-on manager, i don't see all old additions. For example : Bonus Spam, save the village, xp bank is not exist here.
Is it enough to copy folders? please help.
What I would do in your place is I would go into folder:
C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\Battle for Wesnoth 1.12.2\userdata\data\add-ons
(just replace Admin with your user name)
And copy everything into folder here:
C:\Users\Admin\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14\data\add-ons
THEN try to use your add-on on wesnoth 1.14, and if it doesn't work ask us about it again ;) copy error message so we could help better.

User avatar
Eagle_11
Posts: 709
Joined: November 20th, 2013, 12:20 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Eagle_11 » May 12th, 2018, 10:45 pm

Ive got another MinGW Runtime Assertion working with the editor, i couldnt screenshot because all of the keys on my keyboard stopped responding until i have pressed 'abort' with the mouse. The expression was image or _image, symptom was that the main map display gone basically haywire. I was scrolling around with the mouse in editor, then noticed it began showing the same part of the map but distorted. Later i have discovered that prntscr had actually worked, but the image could not be pasted into paint.net because:
possibleleak.png
possibleleak.png (23.73 KiB) Viewed 1395 times
I believe that was the same as the one that came up earlier:
newesteditorexiterr.png
This one always comes up when exiting the editor.

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 910
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by vultraz » May 13th, 2018, 12:05 am

For the record, enclave, you're seeing the small-sized addon manager. It looks better at larger window sizes (there's no list/details tabbing, for one).
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

enclave
Posts: 728
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 8:52 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by enclave » May 13th, 2018, 4:28 am

vultraz wrote:
May 13th, 2018, 12:05 am
For the record, enclave, you're seeing the small-sized addon manager. It looks better at larger window sizes (there's no list/details tabbing, for one).
maybe it does look better in Larger window sizes.. but not everyone is sitting there with 4k and actually keeping these stupid resolutions when you need to use magnifying glass to read text =] 1280 x 655 is not extremely small.. it's average or only slightly below average... My monitor is using 1920x1080 in windows, I have no idea why Wesnoth maximum is 1280. But I guess if it was more than that I doubt I would like it. As I don't try to make my eyes workout and build a muscle mass for always being in tension to see something.

User avatar
shadowm
Site Administrator
Posts: 6376
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by shadowm » May 13th, 2018, 5:11 am

enclave wrote:
May 13th, 2018, 4:28 am
My monitor is using 1920x1080 in windows, I have no idea why Wesnoth maximum is 1280.
Wesnoth does not have a maximum window size. Is your monitor 1920x1080 but configured to use DPI text scaling in your Display settings perhaps? That will make Wesnoth consider it to be smaller than 1920x1080 but with higher pixel sizes (or rather, Windows will make Wesnoth do that).
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Elsewhere: shadowmBlogFollow me on Twitter

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 910
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by vultraz » May 13th, 2018, 7:15 am

This is what the normal view looks like for me. The minimum resolution at which it shows is 1281x801.
Attachments
1.14 addon manager.JPG
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

User avatar
Zap-Zarap
Posts: 139
Joined: March 16th, 2015, 2:18 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Zap-Zarap » May 13th, 2018, 1:59 pm

Another detail:
The icons for "slowed" and "poisoned" on right side info panel are on the same spot, so when a unit is affected by both, one can see only one of the two icons.
I like beavers.

enclave
Posts: 728
Joined: December 15th, 2007, 8:52 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by enclave » May 13th, 2018, 2:10 pm

shadowm wrote:
May 13th, 2018, 5:11 am
Wesnoth does not have a maximum window size. Is your monitor 1920x1080 but configured to use DPI text scaling in your Display settings perhaps? That will make Wesnoth consider it to be smaller than 1920x1080 but with higher pixel sizes (or rather, Windows will make Wesnoth do that).
Well after reading that I have right clicked wesnoth.exe and in compatibility tab ticked the "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" checkbox..
And yeah, now I see what vultraz shows on his screenshot.. and a lot of menus look different now (different layout)
But I can't keep the native resolution, units look stupid now, everything is tiny, it's like trying to see your house in google maps..
Well.. I guess I will just have to live with some menus not being made for my DPI settings...

Djinni
Posts: 1
Joined: May 14th, 2018, 1:59 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Djinni » May 14th, 2018, 2:01 am

Hey shadow, will the 1.14 update feature the IftU or AftS campaigns? I'm playing on 1.12 right now because i couldn't find those campaigns on the add-on server.

Thanks!

User avatar
shadowm
Site Administrator
Posts: 6376
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by shadowm » May 14th, 2018, 10:37 am

Eventually. I’m working on it.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
Elsewhere: shadowmBlogFollow me on Twitter

User avatar
Krogen
Posts: 149
Joined: January 1st, 2013, 3:43 pm

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Krogen » May 14th, 2018, 7:01 pm

I'm not sure if it's the right place to say it or if it was discussed before, but statistics don't work properly in replays, at least for me. Everything that's happened during the match is there from turn 1, the recruits, the advancements, the losses, the damage. And as the replay proceeds, everything will be added to the stats again.
It's not a catastrophe, but it's definitely annoying that you can't follow the events in the statistics when you are watching a replay.
"A lion doesn't concern himself with the opinions of the sheep." - Tywin Lannister

User avatar
vultraz
Community Manager
Posts: 910
Joined: February 7th, 2011, 12:51 pm
Location: Dodging Daleks

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by vultraz » May 15th, 2018, 8:16 pm

enclave wrote:
May 11th, 2018, 2:09 am
PPS. now slightly about bad things. Custom options don't save settings if id is an array name, they become default after restart of wesnoth (w1.14.1 windows 7, and the problem was not only with me, other players too)
This was a regression in 1.13.10. I'll fix it for 1.14.2.
Creator of Shadows of Deception (for 1.12) and co-creator of the Era of Chaos (for 1.12/1.13).
SurvivalXtreme rocks!!!
What happens when you get scared half to death...twice?

Caladbolg
Posts: 125
Joined: January 1st, 2016, 4:40 pm
Location: Hopelessly trapped within the Submachine

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Caladbolg » May 19th, 2018, 7:43 pm

I'm not sure if anyone else had the same issue, but when I was in fullscreen, I couldn't minimize the window or switch to desktop. The usual keyboard shortcuts like Win, Win+D, Win+M, Win+up only reveal the taskbar but whenever I click anything on the taskbar, it just gets hidden again, with Wesnoth being fullscreened. The issue is inconsistent, sometimes I can reproduce it and sometimes it works normally. Wesnoth version is 1.14.1 and running on Windows 7.

EDIT: Oh, and in HttT, sometimes the scenario "Scepter of Fire" won't start and I get the following message:

Code: Select all

Map generator error: Error when running lua_map_generator create_map.
The generator was: Lua Cave Generator
Lua Error:
  When executing, Lua runtime error: lua/mapgen_helper.lua:93: assertion failed!
stack traceback:
	[C]: in function '.assert'
	lua/mapgen_helper.lua:93: in function <lua/mapgen_helper.lua:79>
	[C]: in function '.tostring'
	lua/cave_map_generator.lua:163: in function <lua/cave_map_generator.lua:8>
	(...tail calls...)

User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
Posts: 1121
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by Celtic_Minstrel » May 19th, 2018, 8:11 pm

I think the assertion failure has already been fixed for 1.14.2.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.

chol
Posts: 10
Joined: September 9th, 2015, 11:19 am

Re: Wesnoth 1.14.1

Post by chol » May 20th, 2018, 9:51 am

Nice new version 1.14 release! Looks very good.
Is the UMC add-ons server down (19th+20th May) ? I cannot connect; I get the error "server terminated connection".

Locked