Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
Post Reply
User avatar
Flameslash
Posts: 633
Joined: December 21st, 2008, 12:29 pm

Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

Post by Flameslash »

Hi everyone, I'm building a scenario in which I want the player's side to have two units, each with their own recruit lists. I've been able to give the player two leaders who can recruit, but am struggling with giving them separate lists. Here's what I have so far, can anyone let me know why it doesn't work how I want it to:

Code: Select all

	[side]
		type=Dune Explorer
		name= _ "Kamir"
		{GOLD 120 100 80}
		unrenamable=yes
		side=1
		canrecruit=yes
		controller=human
		recruit=Dune Rover, Dune Soldier, Dune Burner, Dune Herbalist
		team_name=Dunefolk 
		user_team_name=_"Dunefolk"
	[/side]

then a bit later...

#define PLACE_HASRI X Y TRAIT1 TRAIT2
    [unit]
        type=Dune Sunderer
		id=Hasri
		name= _ "Hasri"
		unrenamable=yes
		canrecruit=yes
		recruit=Dune Piercer, Dune Rider
        x={X}
        y={Y}
        side=1
    [/unit]
#enddef

and then finally... 

{PLACE_HASRI 3 8 STRONG QUICK}
So it all seems to work fine, except Hasri uses the same recruit list as Kamir, rather than having his own list.
Last edited by Ravana on March 31st, 2018, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
User avatar
skeptical_troll
Posts: 500
Joined: August 31st, 2015, 11:06 pm

Re: Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

Post by skeptical_troll »

You need to use the 'extra_recruit' key with both leaders if you want them to have separate options. 'recruit' in the [side] tag only lists the shared units.
User avatar
Flameslash
Posts: 633
Joined: December 21st, 2008, 12:29 pm

Re: Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

Post by Flameslash »

Thank you. Is there any examples of that being used in mainline that I can look at to learn how it works, do you know?
User avatar
skeptical_troll
Posts: 500
Joined: August 31st, 2015, 11:06 pm

Re: Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

Post by skeptical_troll »

I think Legend of Wesmere is a good example, Kalenz and the lady (forgot the name) have different recruits.
User avatar
Flameslash
Posts: 633
Joined: December 21st, 2008, 12:29 pm

Re: Giving two units on the same side separate recruit lists?

Post by Flameslash »

Thank you, I had a look at that and I've got it working now.
Post Reply