A Scenario with robots

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » June 1st, 2013, 7:59 pm

hi i just made & uploadet a scenario "scenario with robots" (for wesnoth 1.12.0 or later). I also contains an era "Era with robots" where you can play with the robots from "scenario with robots" against other players in mp.

i'd be happy about some feedback.

especialy about difficulcy or existent bugs.

what is it about?:
in this scenario you play the "robots" that can bought normal and then build with a specialy dialog, depending on how you build a robot the robot will have different attacks, stats and appearance, for example:
Spoiler:

Spoiler:

Spoiler:

there are 3 levels of robots the higher the level the grater the build-field of your robot.
you activate the robot menu by rightcklicking the robot.
Last edited by gfgtdf on June 9th, 2013, 11:48 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby Heindal » June 2nd, 2013, 8:30 am

Sounds like a nice, creative idea. I'm interested in, how you realized the assemble robot menu.

If you need drawn parts for your robots, you can ask in the art workshop if an author will provide them. Make simple drawings of what you want and see what they can, want to provide. You should also check scifi scenarios such as War of Terrador or the ageless era (this an awesome collection of different eras) for 'steamdriven' dwarven robots (ancient_dwarves and dwarves-clockwork).
The future belongs to those, who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Developer of: Trapped, Five Fates, Strange Legacy, Epical
Dungeonmasters of Wesnoth, Wild Peasants vs Devouring Corpses
User avatar
Heindal
 
Posts: 809
Joined: August 11th, 2011, 9:25 pm
Location: Germany

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » June 2nd, 2013, 11:52 am

for the robotsmenau i used some gui2 code(http://wiki.wesnoth.org/LuaWML:Display# ... how_dialog). unfornatly that feature is not verygood documented, and if you do something wrong it won't give you a error message but crashes the game instead. you can lern how the dialog WML table could look like by anylyzing the data/gui folder of your wesnoth folder.

the problem was that gui2 doesnt relly support 2D tables, thats why i cuoldn't use T.list_definition and had create the dialog table dynamicly by lua dependent on thenumber of rows

you can find my code in the "/lua/gui.lua" for the dialog (look for dialog3) and "lua/robot_mechanics.lua" how i use the dialog, "stats.lua" is more or less a lua version of LotI's stats.cfg. note that most of the comments was meant as memos for me, so some of them might be outdatet or somting like that.

and for the images, ty for the idea i'll take a look at them. but i don't relly know whta images i want, because they have different weps, components (some have lasers, wheels, spears, bows), and others not, so would an image with that parts be better or without?
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby Heindal » June 2nd, 2013, 1:29 pm

Hm, you could define archetype based on the equipment, that could save you some time.
For example that a robot equiped with several kinds of equipment looks always the same.

The idea with different parts can be done with overlays, as far as I know.
In order to use different part you might want to use the frankenpacks.

There are several good frankenpacks and you might to look into them:

The Frankpack by Redeth looks promising: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=13868&start=135
also Major provided a little bit more futuristic pack: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=13868&start=165

Good luck

btw thanks for providing information about the dialogue.
The future belongs to those, who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Developer of: Trapped, Five Fates, Strange Legacy, Epical
Dungeonmasters of Wesnoth, Wild Peasants vs Devouring Corpses
User avatar
Heindal
 
Posts: 809
Joined: August 11th, 2011, 9:25 pm
Location: Germany

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » June 2nd, 2013, 2:38 pm

hm but these all use legs or leviationg while my robots use mosty wheels or propellers.
plus my oringinal intention was for the robots to be robots. and not living beeings with robotic accessory.

if you have questins about my code feel free to ask.
there is also an example by vultraz about gui2 code in the LotI thread.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » June 9th, 2013, 11:46 pm

uploaded new version with the following changes:
  • added some images/animations
  • fixed a little bug with the spear booster component
  • added 2 difficulcies
  • added the trap dropper + booster comonents
  • removed the "give random items (debug)" option and added an component shop.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby doofus-01 » April 5th, 2015, 4:03 am

This doesn't work on BfW 1.12. At the very least, there is a "Robots" vs "robots" issue in your file paths. The description has typos too, so I guess there is truth in advertising...
BfW 1.12 supported, but active development only for BfW 1.13/1.14: Bad Moon Rising | Trinity | Archaic Era |
| Abandoned: Tales of the Setting Sun
GitHub link for these projects
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA, the civilized part.

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 5th, 2015, 1:23 pm

This doesn't work on BfW 1.12. At the very least, there is a "Robots" vs "robots" issue in your file paths

Sounds more like a linux specific issue tha like a 1.12 spcific issue. I can play it without problams on 1.13-dev. will fix it when i have time.
So I guess there is truth in advertising.

Idk what you mean.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 6th, 2015, 12:38 am

pushed version 1.0.2 which fixed filepaths on linux, contains some internal code cleanups, and made it compatible to strict lua 1.13 feature.

thanks to zookeeper for helping me.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby doofus-01 » April 6th, 2015, 2:55 am

It works now. There is another capitalization error in the book images:
Code: Select all
20150405 19:25:47 error display: could not open image 'misc/Page1.png'
20150405 19:25:47 error display: could not open image 'misc/Page2.png'

I may also just be missing something, but I don't seem to be able to attach a spear. Maybe it's the same bug that you mentioned earlier? Most other things can be attached fine.
BfW 1.12 supported, but active development only for BfW 1.13/1.14: Bad Moon Rising | Trinity | Archaic Era |
| Abandoned: Tales of the Setting Sun
GitHub link for these projects
User avatar
doofus-01
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: January 6th, 2008, 9:27 pm
Location: USA, the civilized part.

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 6th, 2015, 10:21 am

doofus-01 wrote:It works now. There is another capitalization error in the book images:

ty fixed it (no uploaded yet). Andother problem is that that dialogs appearinace is currently different on different OS becasue becasue it uses sysytem fonts, i opened http://gna.org/bugs/?func=detailitem&item_id=21948 for this reason but i might also remove the 'book' manual and replace it with an easier to use one.

doofus-01 wrote:I may also just be missing something, but I don't seem to be able to attach a spear. Maybe it's the same bug that you mentioned earlier? Most other things can be attached fine.

The spear takes 2 fields, in this case means the field left to teh spear must be empty in order to place the spear. 2 of the 3 units you have at the beginning have a spear in them, you can look at them to know how it could be placed.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 6th, 2015, 6:37 pm

uploaded new version 1.0.3 which fixes more filepaths on linux and adds an image that shows the size of the currently selected item in the edit robot dialog.
Spoiler:
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 16th, 2015, 3:13 am

uploaded new version 1.1 which makes it possible to play "Scenario with Robots" in mp for wesnoth 1.13 as "Era with robots" (No sperate add-on). Era with robots has a faction "Robots" where you have Lvl 2 robot as leader and you can recuit Lvl1 robots, It is a bit less random than Sp mode, also robots are cheaper but contain less components at start.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby Wussel » April 17th, 2015, 10:13 am

Hi there I promised a bunch of ideas for modules.

First simple addon would be an antenna going up and adding 5% inspire each.

The defensive modules should all be going left and outside. They could add. If a bot has 60% fire resistance it should be ok. Make more for all kind of damage types.

The wheels could have reduced power on bigger bots like 3/2/1 for example. Otherwise the bigger bots are fast like hell.

The healing regeneration power is extremly strong. I would reduce it to 8 healing and make separate autorepair modules (regenerates). Make half a healing module available too (4 healing).

I would do extra core chips for things like melee, range, resilent maybe even inteligence. like the traits. They should have 4 open ends.

I would sack this core has to be away from spear feature.

I would give a few extra hitpoint for every connector (red thingy) used (like 2 or 3).

I would consider diferent quality level of gear (Three should do). What you have now is standard. There should be scrap parts (.5 or .66 value) for all things. You could make elite moduls which are even better, but hard to get. Like defence type 10%,20% or 30% bonus or wheel 2,3 or 4. Maybe introduce crafting? 5 scrap transform to 1 standard or so.

Please make the toolbox always same positioning. It is hard to have things always at diferrent places.

And of course I have to say: You deserve the support of our artistic elite! For the toolbox and the units and maybe even a portrait!

You were asking about names: r2d2 c3p0 ;) How about letter-number-letter-number? Make some and use markovchain 2.

One very last. Make cores neutral, night or day! The you can do lamps (iluminates) and fearless chip (maybe called infrared). Right now the core comes with the chassis. Maybe that way you can bring different looking units into play.

One real last: I had issues with the amlas. Maybe less is more. Just some hitpoints, melee+1, range+1, or a movepoint would do.

I would make the easy scenario 100 turns and 2000 gold. Call it test all. :lol:
Wussel
 
Posts: 483
Joined: July 28th, 2012, 5:58 am

Re: A Scenario with robots

Postby gfgtdf » April 17th, 2015, 11:37 am

Wussel wrote:Hi there I promised a bunch of ideas for modules.
First simple addon would be an antenna going up and adding 5% inspire each.
The defensive modules should all be going left and outside. They could add. If a bot has 60% fire resistance it should be ok. Make more for all kind of damage types.

Yes sounds like nice features that is easy to implement.
Wussel wrote:The wheels could have reduced power on bigger bots like 3/2/1 for example. Otherwise the bigger bots are fast like hell.

Currently the first 3 wheels give +3 movment and every other wheel gives +2 movement (at lest that is how it was meant to be)
I can change it to first wheel giving +3 movement, next two wheels giving +2 movement and ever other wheel giving +1 movement.
Wussel wrote:The healing regeneration power is extremly strong. I would reduce it to 8 healing and make separate autorepair modules (regenerates). Make half a healing module available too (4 healing).

I made it quiet strong on purpose since iirc it takes most of the robots space and is rather hard to get, but if you think it is too strong i can reduce it a little.
Wussel wrote:I would do extra core chips for things like melee, range, resilent maybe even inteligence. like the traits. They should have 4 open ends.

Beeing able to dynamicly give modify units max expereince it problematic, It most likeley those tiems would only given to unit which have currently a lot of XP and be removed once it has leveled, also it could casue bugs if a units max_expereience was changed to be less than its current experience.
Wussel wrote:I would sack this core has to be away from spear feature.

Why?
Wussel wrote:I would give a few extra hitpoint for every connector (red thingy) used (like 2 or 3).

I'd have to lower the robots base hp then,
Wussel wrote:I would consider diferent quality level of gear (Three should do). What you have now is standard. There should be scrap parts (.5 or .66 value) for all things. You could make elite moduls which are even better, but hard to get. Like defence type 10%,20% or 30% bonus or wheel 2,3 or 4. Maybe introduce crafting? 5 scrap transform to 1 standard or so.

In the current scenario i'd say that things are hard enought to get (becasue there is only one scneairo so not verymuch time) So i dont want the trader to sell scrap items, mabye i can have some dropping feature that enemies drop items with random quality (although it would be quiet unrealisic if trolls and elves drop laserguns and propellors)
Wussel wrote:Please make the toolbox always same positioning. It is hard to have things always at diferrent places.

I could make Toolbox sorted in a deteministic way, like first simple connectors, then wheel, then weapons, then gimmicks
Wussel wrote:And of course I have to say: You deserve the support of our artistic elite! For the toolbox and the units and maybe even a portrait!

ty, unfortulately i cannot decide that.
Wussel wrote:You were asking about names: r2d2 c3p0 ;) How about letter-number-letter-number? Make some and use markovchain 2.

Y that sounds quiet easy to implement.
Wussel wrote:One very last. Make cores neutral, night or day! The you can do lamps (iluminates) and fearless chip (maybe called infrared). Right now the core comes with the chassis.

So you are basibly suggestion to make robots have a randomly assigned alingmanet?
Wussel wrote:Maybe that way you can bring different looking units into play.

My art skills arent that good unfortuately (when painting those robots it already took me a long time).
Wussel wrote:One real last: I had issues with the amlas. Maybe less is more. Just some hitpoints, melee+1, range+1, or a movepoint would do.

I didnt test amlas that much becasue i thought it is very unlikeley to get amlas becase there is only one scenario. The current intended hehaviour is like this: All robots should have a +hp amla and some amlas based on their current componenet (for example robots with spears get +damage for speirs amla). Is there currently a bug in there?

Previously there were also amlas the increased the robots size, but that was removed later becasue i thuoght it was too strong.
Wussel wrote:I would make the easy scenario 100 turns and 2000 gold. Call it test all. :lol:


hm, i think if people want to have infinite gold they can just use debug coomands.
Scenario with Robots SP scenario (1.11/1.12), allows you to build your units with components, PYR No preperation turn 1.12 mp-mod that allows you to select your units immideately after the game begins.
gfgtdf
Developer
 
Posts: 912
Joined: February 10th, 2013, 2:25 pm

Next

Return to Scenario & Campaign Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests