Septere of Fire

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

User avatar
Asian_Invasion3000
Posts: 5
Joined: July 20th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Septere of Fire

Post by Asian_Invasion3000 »

I need some help please. In the Heir to the Throne campaign, in the Septere of Fire, The Septere is in a wall. What should I do?
User avatar
Iris
Site Administrator
Posts: 6724
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Iris »

Try restarting the scenario from the saved game that comes before turn 1.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm (now available for Wesnoth 1.14.x and 1.15.4+).
User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Captain_Wrathbow »

Wow, never heard of that happening before...

What version of wesnoth are you on?
A poor solution
There's probably a better solution, but one way would be to use debug mode to give one unit temporarily superhigh movement so it can get the sceptre and you can continue the campaign.

Code: Select all

:debug
(click on konrad or lisar when adjacent to the wall)
:unit movement=100
Note that I used movement= instead of max_movement=. This way, the moves will be used up and next turn, the unit will be normal again.
Ninja'd but I'll post anyway.
Anonymissimus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 2460
Joined: August 15th, 2008, 8:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Anonymissimus »

How can it be in a wall ? This is a bug.
projects (BfW 1.12):
A Simple Campaign: campaign draft for wml startersPlan Your Advancements: mp mod
The Earth's Gut: sp campaignSettlers of Wesnoth: mp scenarioWesnoth Lua Pack: lua tags and utils
updated to 1.8 and handed over: A Gryphon's Tale: sp campaign
User avatar
Iris
Site Administrator
Posts: 6724
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Iris »

Captain_Wrathbow wrote:There's probably a better solution, but one way would be to use debug mode to give one unit temporarily superhigh movement so it can get the sceptre and you can continue the campaign.
IIRC that won't really work since Wesnoth seems to understand the concept of "infinite" movement costs expressed with incredibly high numbers.

In any case, yes, it's a bug. Thank you Captain Obvious. :P

Restarting the scenario should help in any case since the map is randomly generated at the start.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm (now available for Wesnoth 1.14.x and 1.15.4+).
User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Captain_Wrathbow »

Wait, I don't get it. The way terrain is made impassible is by setting the movement cost to 99, right? So if you have a unit with more than 99 movement points, it is capable of passing through walls. :?
Anonymissimus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 2460
Joined: August 15th, 2008, 8:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Anonymissimus »

Well, you reacted like it was just normal to restart this scenario sometimes after finding the sceptre in a wall.

I have a solution for you without the need to restart:

:debug
:lua wesnoth.set_terrain(x, y, "Gg")
:nodebug

Insert the sceptre's coordinates for x,y and this turns the location into moveable grassland.
projects (BfW 1.12):
A Simple Campaign: campaign draft for wml startersPlan Your Advancements: mp mod
The Earth's Gut: sp campaignSettlers of Wesnoth: mp scenarioWesnoth Lua Pack: lua tags and utils
updated to 1.8 and handed over: A Gryphon's Tale: sp campaign
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by zookeeper »

Since he didn't say, I'm assuming he has some really old version, because in 1.8 there's a bit of code which should erase all cavewall in the vicinity of the scepter.
User avatar
Captain_Wrathbow
Posts: 1664
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 2:03 pm
Location: Guardia

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Captain_Wrathbow »

I see that there are better solutions, but I still don't understand why mine won't work.
User avatar
Dixie
Posts: 1757
Joined: February 10th, 2010, 1:06 am
Location: $x1,$y1

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Dixie »

I don't know. I tried giving a unit 1000 moves to see if it'd work and it didn't - although the walls and such weren't darkened anymore, I still couldn't move on them. There must be something else than just move costs.
Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny - Frank Zappa
Current projects: Internet meme Era, The Settlers of Wesnoth
User avatar
Asian_Invasion3000
Posts: 5
Joined: July 20th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Asian_Invasion3000 »

I have the 1.3.12 version...but i don't know how to update.
I'll try the debug code.
I've restarted the scenario plenty of times and it was still in the same wall in the same spot.
Bug, I think so...How to get rid of it? No idea...But I would like to thank all who posted. Please keep them coming and I will do my best to return the favor.
monochromatic
Posts: 1549
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:45 am

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by monochromatic »

You don't update. You just download a new copy.
User avatar
Asian_Invasion3000
Posts: 5
Joined: July 20th, 2010, 10:00 pm

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Asian_Invasion3000 »

I checked the website and ...nevermind i got it hahah :lol2: i feel smart :D
monochromatic
Posts: 1549
Joined: June 18th, 2009, 1:45 am

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by monochromatic »

Though keep in mind that your saves with 1.3 will not be compatibile with 1.8. So you'll have to restart the campaign.
User avatar
Speedbrain
Posts: 137
Joined: August 10th, 2009, 9:51 pm
Location: Utah, USA

Re: Septere of Fire

Post by Speedbrain »

But as you're redoing the campaign, enjoy the new artwork and many other changes that have taken place since 1.3.12. :Awesome:
Post Reply