Franken-Pack

Make art for user-made content.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Harion » October 20th, 2009, 9:13 pm

Gambit wrote:Thank you Harion that would be awesome. I can't wait to see your new frankenpack for animators.


i am 2 new 2 come up with anything like that its just i think about how to make something practical

by the way i downloaded the franken pack but do i need photoshop or something to get it to work?
Harion
 
Posts: 61
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 5:00 pm

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Devas » October 20th, 2009, 9:31 pm

Nah, it doesn't work, especially not with the GIMP or Paint.
You should try printing the frankenpack sprites then cutting every part of it and then paste them on a paper so you can create your own unit sprites! Amazing! :mrgreen:
User avatar
Devas
 
Posts: 51
Joined: April 22nd, 2009, 4:35 pm

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Aethaeryn » October 20th, 2009, 11:06 pm

Harion wrote:
Gambit wrote:Thank you Harion that would be awesome. I can't wait to see your new frankenpack for animators.


i am 2 new 2 come up with anything like that its just i think about how to make something practical

by the way i downloaded the franken pack but do i need photoshop or something to get it to work?

if u talk lik this u wont be tkn srsly. its not kewl 2 talk lik this on teh forumz.

Notice how everyone else you talk to at least tries to write proper English. If you want to be taken seriously on the forums and not be the recipient of bad jokes or sarcastic comments, you really need to at least try. Otherwise you'll be continually frustrated when no one gives you real advice. ... Especially that "2" thing. It's not cool to abbreviate a two-or-three-letter word, it's just lazy.

WINAOL.
User avatar
Aethaeryn
Translator
 
Posts: 1553
Joined: September 15th, 2007, 10:21 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Gambit » October 20th, 2009, 11:34 pm

Devas was being mostly sarcastic like me :D
But he was right about one thing. It seriously doesn't work in paint. You need to get GIMP.

Also Aetheryn is 100% right. When in Rome do as the Romans.
User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
 
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby someone » January 7th, 2010, 1:37 am

Here is a bald head I made for the pack. I hope it's useful.
I didn't make it from scratch, It used bits from other guys (Desert Hunter and Walking Corpse)
Attachments
baldhead.png
baldhead.png (551 Bytes) Viewed 3658 times
Expanding Wesnoth

You are an Arch Mage - You're definitely intelligent, but some people would say you spend too much time inside. The power you have learned, however, is simply unmatched.
User avatar
someone
 
Posts: 188
Joined: March 13th, 2009, 9:03 pm

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby styles1005 » January 27th, 2010, 10:13 pm

Umm . . . One problem. I am using paint.net. I tried the Franken-Pack just for the fun of it (don't plan to design anything anytime soon) and when I try to put two parts together, they block each other out. Not as in the actual parts blocking each other out, but as in, when I select a part to move it, the area that I have selected covers the other part. It doesn't go away when I deselect either. I'm sorry if that's not too clear, but if anybody recognizes what I'm talking about could you help me?

And @Harion, great idea. That would solve the one problem I could think of with this (aside from the above-mentioned, that is.)
*has nothing else to say*

Necromancy most foul! - Doc Paterson

styles1005
 
Posts: 179
Joined: December 21st, 2009, 12:10 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby thespaceinvader » January 27th, 2010, 10:21 pm

You'll need to select them more carefully ;)

Or cut out the background, so that they;re on transparency.
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.
User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
 
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby styles1005 » January 27th, 2010, 10:44 pm

Will the Magic Wand work? I just found out about it by accident and it appears to do what I need. And I don't know how to do either of what you said, and I looked through everything I could find.

EDIT: I tried it and it moves most of the thing, but leaves some behind for some reason. Cutting out the background is what I am looking for, but I can't find how to do it.
*has nothing else to say*

Necromancy most foul! - Doc Paterson

styles1005
 
Posts: 179
Joined: December 21st, 2009, 12:10 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby thespaceinvader » January 28th, 2010, 7:51 am

Magic wand the background (make sure the sensitivity on the tool is turned right up, so it's only selecting the background colour), and press 'delete'. Or, just select more carefully around the part you want - use a freehand/lasso tool, and zoom in really close, to make sure that you're only selecting the part, and not the background.
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.
User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
 
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby styles1005 » January 28th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Ah. Thanks much. Did not think of that. :oops:

EDIT: Still not working. What do I have to do to get this accursed program to WORK!? :x

EDIT: Nevermind. Had to set tolerance on the Magic Wand to 75 to get it all (default is 50).
*has nothing else to say*

Necromancy most foul! - Doc Paterson

styles1005
 
Posts: 179
Joined: December 21st, 2009, 12:10 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby AI » January 29th, 2010, 2:20 am

With "turned right up", TSI meant 100, so you get all the background and only the background.
AI
Developer
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: January 31st, 2008, 8:38 pm

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby styles1005 » January 29th, 2010, 4:50 pm

No, I selected just the background and tried to get rid of it but it remains. However, with tolerance on the Magic Wand (where is this sensitivity you speak of? All I can find is the tolerance) at 75, I can select the object w/o selecting the background as well, though it sometimes takes a couple tries.
*has nothing else to say*

Necromancy most foul! - Doc Paterson

styles1005
 
Posts: 179
Joined: December 21st, 2009, 12:10 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Major » March 30th, 2010, 3:33 am

Can I post some futuristic stuff up?
Nothing is foolproof to a talented fool.
User avatar
Major
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 393
Joined: November 19th, 2009, 12:52 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby thespaceinvader » March 30th, 2010, 6:58 am

Feel free =)
http://thespaceinvader.co.uk | http://thespaceinvader.deviantart.com
Back to work. Current projects: Catching up on commits. Picking Meridia back up. Sprite animations, many and varied.
User avatar
thespaceinvader
Retired Art Director
 
Posts: 8414
Joined: August 25th, 2007, 10:12 am
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: Franken-Pack

Postby Major » March 31st, 2010, 4:41 am

Here are some futuristic bits and bobs...
Attachments
G.I. Franken pack.PNG
G.I. Franken pack.PNG (5.45 KiB) Viewed 3241 times
Nothing is foolproof to a talented fool.
User avatar
Major
Art Contributor
 
Posts: 393
Joined: November 19th, 2009, 12:52 am
Location: New Zealand

PreviousNext

Return to Art Workshop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests