Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Kalis
Posts: 199
Joined: February 3rd, 2007, 1:51 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Kalis » September 18th, 2008, 9:42 pm

Some Bug reports:

1. Friendly Klegg bug
I was green, invaded dovo, and I got the Ursula Klegg.
Is this because Green is at the top, and Ursula is the top planet?
I couldn't get the Dovo Ursula until I landed some of blue's soldiers on the planet.

I think that the friendly trait should be removed. The 2 income hit for supporting it is harsh.

2. Displacer doesn't work for Fighters
sajm0n mentioned it

Also a suggestion:
if the beaming up and down of the transport is meant to full heal, then perhaps make the hospital a headquarters repair group instead?
There's no way to heal a headquarters right now :/

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 784
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » September 19th, 2008, 3:29 am

Whoah! Thanks for the bugs and stuff. I won't go into the ship balance issue just yet - but almost all the other problems have been fixed in version 0.3.1

* Beamed units are now slowed on arrival, which might take the edge off the beam-heal trick.
* Space now has its own ToD which is equivalent to dusk.
* Kleggs join the right sides and require no upkeep.
* Planets are level 1 again, since putting zoc=yes in the unit.cfg did nothing.
* Added another unit: drone.

I've also re-jigged the whole tech-tree. Sorry Kalis :P

I added a few more economy-based upgrades for HQs to make Genetics and Nanotechnology worthwhile. Teleporters now only allow you to go to another of your HQs with a teleporter, so it's an expensive route.

Probably other stuff too. Watch this space!
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

User avatar
TheChosenOne
Posts: 216
Joined: April 7th, 2006, 8:26 am
Location: Royal Palace, Weldyn St. 01, Wesnoth 123 456

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by TheChosenOne » September 19th, 2008, 7:50 am

First of all, my salutations to Bob, for yet another awesome scenario!

The first time that I played this scenario was 0.2.2, which was probably 2-3 days ago, but now it is already 0.3.1. Bob must be working very hard :)

I was about to complain about the bugs of 0.2.4 yesterday when I realised that 0.3.1 has just been released today :)
It's an excellent scenario. I've always wanted some sort of space wars in Wesnoth.

On the buggy part of 0.3.1, I could only find two so far:
1) Units can still beam up and down without getting slowed down
2) Drones (as you claimed) still do not exist.

Overall, great game. Keep it up!
Numbers do not win a battle
---Konrad III
(A loyal member of the pro-loyalists)

Would you like to translate the Battle of Wesnoth into Indonesian? Then come and join us at http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/IndonesianTranslation

Kalis
Posts: 199
Joined: February 3rd, 2007, 1:51 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Kalis » September 19th, 2008, 8:30 am

Well here's the 0.3.1 Tech Tree

Suggestions (The majority of which you already know :) :
1. Planet Upgrades need a cost reduction.
- The exception is coms: it should probably be at 15-18 (+25% damage is HUGE).
- missile base and defense laser should probably be at 10-12 gold (they're deterrents - you never get to actually attack with it).
2. All HQ upgrades need a cost reduction except hospital (maybe - it's still useless at 5 gold lol)
- Mineral process maybe should be 4-5gold? (after all, the default map generally has a victor within 25 turns). 7 turns to get your money back is just too much. Unless you're playing with nanotech 2 available from the start...
3. Gadgets: Self-Repair and displacer are far too expensive at 10 gold.
4. Probes need to be moved down the tech tree a lot :)

Ships:
Fighters - 1 Warp, 1 Ballistics
Cruiser - 1 Warp, 2 Ballistics
Servicer - 1 Warp, 1 Nanotech
Probe - 2 Warp, 3 Nanotech

Gadgets:
TurboCharger - Warp 1 - 5 gold, +1 movement for ships
Armor - Ball 1 - 5 gold, +10% to all resists.
Targeter - Ball 2 - 8 gold, +10% to hit when attacking.
Slipstream - Warp 2 - 8 gold, Ignore enemy ZoC
Self-Repair - Nano 1 - 10 gold, ship heals itself 4hp per turn
Displacer - Warp 2, Ball 1 - 10 gold, +10% defense on all terrain
Attack Thrusters- Warp 3, Ball 2 - 13 gold, 50% movement after attacking
Cloak - Warp 3 - 13 gold, -1mv, allows ambush

Planet Upgrades:
Spacedock - - 40 gold, lets you build ships, heals adjacent ships 4hp.
Radar - Warp 1 - 5 gold, planet sight +2.
Com - Warp 2 - 10 gold, Level 1s get +25% damage adjacent to planet.
Defense Laser - Ball 1 - 15 gold, gives 7-3 heat attack to planet.
Shields - Ball 2 - 17 gold, 10% ship resists when defending.
Missile Base - Ball 3 - 18 gold, Planets can make a long attack
Gaiacology - Gene 3, Nano 3 - 23 gold, Planet Heals itself 10hp per turn

HeadQuarter Upgrades:
Hospital - Gene 1 - 5 gold, +8 for units adjacent to homeworld
Lab - Gene 1, Nano 1 - HQ produces 1 Research
Food Processor - Gene 2 - 15 gold, Generates 1 food
Mineral Process - Nano 2 - 7 gold, Generates 1 gold
Nanomine - Nanotech 3 - 30 gold, All workers generating gold produce 1 gold extra
Foodplant - Gene 3.5 - 35 gold, 25% less food for population expansion
Teleporter - Gene 3, Warp 3 - 40 gold, Ground Units can Teleport to Another Planet

Human Upgrades: (Note: these bonsues only apply after units have been beamed up and down from a transporter)
Soldier Rifles - Ball 3 - Soldier Rifle damage to 7-3 from 5-3
DNA Screening - Genetics 1 (or 2) - Workers, Scientists, and soldiers get a hp boost

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Gambit » September 19th, 2008, 11:44 am

when playing 1v1 teams 3 and 4 still get units.

maybe check for something like

if
have_unit
side=3
type= all possible starting leaders types
x,y=x,y
then
make all your little workers and what not

and of course the same for four...


also the thing with people beaming up while wounded and then back down to get a free heal just make it so they cant beam up while wounded. they have to heal on planet first or they wont be strong enough for teleportation. (this would also make hospitals a lot more valuble ;) )

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 12:16 pm

hi, i made a Terrain Pack for Galactic Empires Fans
(and for Bob)

for easier editing of Maps and stuff.
Terrain can be used in MapEditor and works correctly with the new Units etc.

Note that the LUNAR Terrain requires a completely new Movement-Type "moon" tobe walked on, same with asteroid-fields (asteroids_field), and (star)clouds (cloud)

as intended. so you will need completely new Units that can walk on that Terrain
(these are included though in Galactic empires).

I also changed the Terrain ID's from the "original" i had to work with, since it was kinda messy (i suppose you used old spacenoth code which is kinda outdated or at least i guess it)

so here a short list of Terrain ID's:

Space: Zza
Starclouds: Zzb
Asteroid-Field: Zza^Af

Moon: Zze
Moon-Crater: Zzg
Moon-Rubble: Zzf
Moon-Hills: Zzh
Moon-Mountains: Zzi
Impassable Moon-Mountains: Zzi^Xm

(ah well, and theres also "impassable Moon-Mountains" - )

All Moon Types require "moon". Crater, Rubble, Hill is mixture of Moon+Hill.
Moon-Mountain is Moon+Mountains (surprise).

Hope that is ok,else simply change the Terrian Data.

Concerning the Graphics i suggest you make aCopy of the old Folders, delete them and replace them with the new Folders. Some of the old Starcloud transition graphics didnt work (and made the tranisitons not appear),as wellone Moon-Hil transition was missing (moon-hill-ne).
so i just mirrored the se-thingy. looks not optimal but i am no artist anyway.


How to use:
------------


EDITOR:
--------


to use this in your Map Editor (all new Terrains can be found on Top of the List, OR in ROUGH-Terrain Sub List)


make a copy of your


Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\
terrain.cfg

and your

Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\terrain-graphics\
_final.cfg

and replace these Files with the Files from CORE.ZIP


of course you must put the new Graphics also in
Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\images\terrain\-Folder

as said better delete the old "space", "space-t" and "lunar" Folders,anddont simply copy it in.

The Graphics can be found in SpaceTerrain-ZIP attached to this Post.


SCENARIO:
----------

To use the Graphics in your Scenario and to make it available for players, you have to include it in your scnenario, for this ourpose just copy the "images"-Folder (with its content) in SpaceTerrain-Zip into your main SCN-Directory.

You also have to copy the "terrain-cfg" which contains the Terrain-Data into your SCN-Folder, probably into a Subfolder. You also must point at that Folder separately in your MaiN.CFG File.

for example:
if you make inside your main-scn-folder a subfolder called "utils" and put the terrain.cfg into it your galactic_empires main cfg would look like this

Code: Select all

[binary_path]
	path=data/campaigns/Galactic_Empires/
[/binary_path]

#ifdef MULTIPLAYER
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/utils}
[+units]
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/races}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/missiles}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/misc}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/planets}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/terran}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/ground}
	{@campaigns/Galactic_Empires/units/aliens}
[/units]
#endif 

but you can name the folder as you wish of course.
as said, the terrain works.

im sure you can edit the data for your needs if something is missed or whatever


REMEMBER:
-----------

The Content of CORE-ZIP is just to replace the CORE Files, not for use in SCENARIO, the File that is used in SCENARIO is within the SpaceTerrain.Zip. Just follow the instructions above.
(i just mentioned it again, if it is not clear yet)
Attachments
SpaceTerrain.zip
(626.01 KiB) Downloaded 294 times
Core.zip
(10.8 KiB) Downloaded 281 times
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Two screenshots from Editor -
now i dont claim its good design, just to show how it looks like
Screenshot_00004.PNG
Screenshot_00005.PNG
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

User avatar
woodmouse
Posts: 1435
Joined: August 9th, 2008, 6:26 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by woodmouse » September 19th, 2008, 1:21 pm

Wooow! :shock: How can those terrains be used in map editor? :)
Check out my sprites!

User avatar
Gambit
Loose Screw
Posts: 3266
Joined: August 13th, 2008, 3:00 pm
Location: Dynamica
Contact:

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Gambit » September 19th, 2008, 3:05 pm

magic :eng:

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 3:16 pm

@woodmouse

it would help if you read the two posts above, since i am not going to quote it or post it again ;)

btw, the terrian looks great, bit i hope i didnt make the impression that i made the grafix :lol2: (the grafix are from spacenoth, which have quite PLENTY of resources left, so i have no doubt that more Terrain as well as many things for Galactic Empire can be added (by Bob or whoever)

as said, ATM they are basically exclusively for GALACTIC EMPIRES since no other units can use the Terrain, Space is Void, Clouds are clouds, Moon is moon and asteroids is asteroid-field.
(to be sure look sforteh ID's - no guarantee here that i spelled it correctly)

so default units cannot move on that terrian, you have to make custom units, using customized movetypes

but of course you can change that easily by adding aliases to the basic Terrains, so you could make MOON-Terrain alias of SAND, and voila, it is available to default units

anyway, this should be clear after all. :)



one word about GALACTIC EMPIRES:
so no matter how people may argue about details,the basic concept of the MOD is pretty genius, since it offers a great Depth (and as said this can be expanded a lot), while being intuitive and also fast to play. you can handle your Empire with a few clicks - the worker system is extremely smart made. the whole planet conquest, transpot thingy make the MOD an absolute blast
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 3:42 pm

Kalis wrote:2. All HQ upgrades need a cost reduction except hospital (maybe - it's still useless at 5 gold lol)
- Mineral process maybe should be 4-5gold? (after all, the default map generally has a victor within 25 turns). 7 turns to get your money back is just too much. Unless you're playing with nanotech 2 available from the start...
3. Gadgets: Self-Repair and displacer are far too expensive at 10 gold.
4. Probes need to be moved down the tech tree a lot :)
while i agree that cost reduction for gadgets is great i disagree with kalis here -

displacer with +10% defense for all terrain is pretty much very ok for 10 gold.
armor gives +10 resist ON DEFNSE ONLY and cost 5 gold.
targeter give bettre hitchance ON OFFENSE ONLY and cost 8 gold
so displacer gives +10 on both defense and offense is is a great upgrade worth 10 gold, more of a allround upgrade

same goes for self repair .. well can be pretty useful though, remember its also a passive upgrade, so unlike armor which only pays off if the enemy shoots at you, selfrepair will always have effect
as said its abit difficultto estimate, but one thing is clear: make it too powerful and the other thnigs lose their usefulness.


agree with the SMALL HQ techs, 5 gold for mineral_process seems to be ok, also food-processer shold be 5 gold - its only a small upgrade -

while 30 gold for NANOMINES almost seem a bit to low, come on, its the cost of a fighter and after 2, max 3 rounds it has paid of. very powerful, 30 gold is IMO a pretty good vlaue and it shouldn be lower

so i conclude:

- displacer for 10 gold is good and should not be lower, else armor is useless
- mineral_process and food_processer shoudlbe reduced to 5
- Nanomines and Foodplant are good as they are, ah well Nanomines cost should be raised to 35.. then it would pay off (in Homeworld) from turn 3 on (turn 2.7 to be exact, so you make plus in round 3), not to mention red planets - i would get it for sure, having one more fighter or get in 3 turns A LOT more gold is no question. nano 3 for the win.

- Hospital could be chnaged into a Maintenance Center which also gives the HQ +4 or +8 HP per round
- radarmore sight, +5 would be cool


just my suggestions


P.s: looking forward to a game, i optimized my strat a bit :D
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

User avatar
Bob_The_Mighty
Posts: 784
Joined: July 13th, 2006, 1:15 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Bob_The_Mighty » September 19th, 2008, 6:46 pm

Wow, Mabuse - this is really appreciated.

I followed your steps but was unsure what you meant here....
Mabuse wrote: of course you must put the new Graphics also in
Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\images\terrain\-Folder

as said better delete the old "space", "space-t" and "lunar" Folders,anddont simply copy it in.
I have got the tiles to show in the map editor, but when the transitions are applied the image turns to void (even though the correct name is given at the top).

I tried putting the images in the Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\images\terrain\ and then copying the 3 subfolders space/space-t/lunar but neither did seemed to work. What am I doing wrong?
My current projects:
2p Campaign: The Altaz Mariners
3p Survival: Save The Village

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 7:25 pm

Replace:
--------

Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\
terrain.cfg

and

Battle for Wesnoth 1.4\data\core\terrain-graphics\
_final.cfg


these Files with the Files from CORE.ZIP

In Core.Zip is a "terrain.cfg" and a "_final.cfg", these will replace the "old" core files, terrain.cfg is located in data/core
_final.cfg is located in data/core/terrain_graphics


HINT
if the tiles show up in the editor, but only void is displayed then you forgot to put the _final.cfg at the right place




btw, i felt that just one MOON_LAYOUT isnt enough, so i made a second one, a "red/brown Moon", which is a good addition.

also i took the spacestation tiles and factory tile from SPACENOTH and included it in the new pack.

they look [censored] though :lol2:

the sun isnt bad, but the "yellow shine" of the sun isnt round instaed its boxed, and so im messing around with that -

in any case there wil be a new Terrain PAck soon, with some more terrain
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

Mabuse
Posts: 2130
Joined: November 6th, 2007, 1:38 pm

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by Mabuse » September 19th, 2008, 7:35 pm

There are also "satelite space tiles", i just dont know what to do with them atm -

i could make a new terrain ("satelite" or "obstacle", somethig like a difficult terrain perhaps) out of it, or just "something for the eye", but maybe you also want to use them as ITEMS though, then you may animate them,or players may collect them (in this case i wont make terrain out of it)
The best bet is your own, good Taste.

User avatar
woodmouse
Posts: 1435
Joined: August 9th, 2008, 6:26 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Galactic Empires (MP Sci-fi Scenario)

Post by woodmouse » September 19th, 2008, 8:15 pm

Noooo..! The whole editor is broken! I replaced the files you said, but in the "rough" section, there is only the empty thing... :cry: And the other terrains also crash the editor... What's erong... :cry:

EDIT: YAY! I got them to work! I didn't copy the images... :oops:
Check out my sprites!

Post Reply