Contribute art for mainline Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
beetlenaut
Developer

Even more zombie sprites needed

Post by beetlenaut »

I'm adding a new zombie system to Secrets of the Ancients where, as soon as you kill any unit, you can recruit that type of walking corpse. That means I need walking corpse sprites for pretty much every unit though. Recent work, mostly by doofus-01, has given us almost everything, but I still really need Giant Rats and Giant Spiders. (I hate to say, "You have defeated a giant spider, so now you can recruit people on horses! It makes no sense.) They don't even have to be animated--just a base frame would do. I'm not a great artist, but I'm way worse at designing units that look good.

Wolf riders would be nice too, though not essential. Eternal did a good base frame, ages ago, but we would still need a soulless version. In this case, it would have to be animated though, because otherwise it wouldn't be better than a regular wolf, which is what I'm using now.
Campaigns: Dead Water,
The Founding of Borstep,
Secrets of the Ancients,
and WML Guide
Vyncyn
Forum Regular

Re: even more zombie sprites needed

Post by Vyncyn »

I don't know what a zombie spider is even supposed to look like. They don't exactly have bones which could show or rotting flesh. Maybe a few missing legs, dead eyes a different colour and a strange pose like that
spider-melee-11.png
spider-melee-11.png (2.39 KiB) Viewed 6531 times
?
Vendanna

Post by Vendanna »

technically a "undead spider" would look like a spider walking on its back clumsily. (since they tend to put their legs up above when dying) ot so I have seen on movies and such, it would move weirdly (its back on the ground!) and it probably has problems attacking, but that's how I envision it.

Missing/broken legs and a few eyes punctured is probably another good way to portray it, I guess.