Campaign: Invasion of Arendia

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

JW wrote:Did you make the changes to the outlaw units? Sorry that I didn't follow the thread so well.
Put simpy, IoA used to duplicate all of the bandit units and refer to them using ids which started with B- (B-thug, B-thief, B-footpad, etc) the problem with this (as I mentioned) is that it duplicated all of the units which meant that they appeared twice in the wesnoth Help thingy (the unit list), which annoyed me, and it meant that I had to manually update to add balancing changes, graphical changes, WML changes and additional animations, which was annoying.

So instead I've decided to start using the normal units combined with some [advancefrom] tags for the L3 outlaws that need adding onto the normal bandit units (which is why I duplicated them to begin with), however I realised that this would break the campaign for anybody who already had a save half way through it, so instead of removing the B- bandits, I kept them, but changed it so that you would never get a new B- bandit, and the B- bandits advanced into the normal bandits (B-thief becomes a Rogue, B-Assassin becomes a Assassin after 20XP, etc) so that eventually nobody would have any B- bandits in their versions, at which point I'll remove them.

The only problem was that I had forgotten to [disallow-recruit] all of the B- bandits and [allow-recruit] the normal ones in the scenario files (because for some reason the game doesn't like it if the recruit list at the beginning of the scenario doesn't match the one in the save, so you have to use [allow-recruit] and [disallow-recruit] the units in the scenario in order to change the recruit list in the file.)

Of course, starting again removes this problem completely, and means that you get to see some of the dialogue changes, so it's reccomended.
User avatar
JW
Posts: 5046
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 7:06 am
Location: Chicago-ish, Illinois

Post by JW »

So you do plan on removing all that bs and just having the [advancefrom] tag eventually, right?

ps, when did that tag start working? Noyga could use that in the Extended Era.
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

JW wrote:ps, when did that tag start working? Noyga could use that in the Extended Era.
I'm not sure, but it was definately after 1.0.2.
bloblo

Post by bloblo »

Ranger M wrote:I have now fixed the problem, but the campaign server is down again so I'm posting the files that have been effected here. Replace the old scenarios and utils folders with the new ones, and the old Invasion_of_Arendia.cfg with the new one.
sorry.... the problem is not fixed... i have replaced all with the new, i have replay the Naga Temple to have a new Saving Thrashan (running with the new config !) but same bug, i can not recruit...
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

bloblo wrote:
Ranger M wrote:I have now fixed the problem, but the campaign server is down again so I'm posting the files that have been effected here. Replace the old scenarios and utils folders with the new ones, and the old Invasion_of_Arendia.cfg with the new one.
sorry.... the problem is not fixed... i have replaced all with the new, i have replay the Naga Temple to have a new Saving Thrashan (running with the new config !) but same bug, i can not recruit...
can you attach your save file? I need to see it to try to work this out.
bloblo

Post by bloblo »

Ranger M wrote:can you attach your save file? I need to see it to try to work this out.
Saving_Thrashan and the Naga_Temple_film in a zip folder...
Attachments
ioa_save.zip
(43.62 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

bloblo wrote:
Ranger M wrote:can you attach your save file? I need to see it to try to work this out.
Saving_Thrashan and the Naga_Temple_film in a zip folder...
this should solve the problem, just replace the old recruitmentFix.cfg in /utils with this new one.
bloblo

Post by bloblo »

Ranger M wrote:
this should solve the problem, just replace the old recruitmentFix.cfg in /utils with this new one.
the new does not work... same bug :(
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

bloblo wrote:
Ranger M wrote:
this should solve the problem, just replace the old recruitmentFix.cfg in /utils with this new one.
the new does not work... same bug :(
Odd, it worked when I tested it. I'll check again.
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

After trying to fix this problem for about 10 hours straight, I've finally given up, I really can't work it out and I'd be wasting my time trying to when I could be using the time for other things.

Therefore I am completely removeing all of the old id's, and any reference to them that ever existed, so in the next realease, 0.1.2, everybody who hasn't already started again since I made the change will have to.

Again, I'm sorry for the inconvinence, but I can now spend this time doing other things on the campaign and on other projects.
troodon
Posts: 218
Joined: July 22nd, 2006, 8:55 pm

found a typo, and something doesn't work

Post by troodon »

In invasion of Arendia, version 1.0,

typo in 02-Reths_training.cfg

line 600

problem: I don't think you meant it to be

Code: Select all

[clear_variable]
name=woldshown
[/clear_variable]
it's supposed to be wolfshown, right? f, not d.

Also, in the terminal, there was this:

error config: [attack] uses special=magical, which is now deprecated. Use the macros provided in abilities.cfg.
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error config: [attack] uses special=magi
cal, which is now deprecated. Use the macros provided in abilities.cfg.
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error config: an animation uses the deprecated [sound] tag, please include sound in the [frame] tag
error display: could not open image 'storymap-of-arendia.png'
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
Milliseconds to save: 237
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
Milliseconds to save: 268
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
Milliseconds to save: 241
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error config: Error: invalid string
error display: could not open image 'portraits/Jack.jpg'
error config: Error: invalid string


there were even more "error config: Error: invalid string"s than that. Also, whenever Reth moved onto a village and he said "There is someone here", nothing ever popped out of the village. The replay is supposed to be attached.

However, it might be unnecessary. I don't have a clue why the units didn't appear, but I think that if you put this

Code: Select all

#define CREATE_UNIT TYPES TEAM X Y
[set_variable]
  name=unit_type
  random={TYPES}
[/set_variable] 
[unit]
  description=$unit_type
  type=$unit_type
  x={X}
	y={Y}
	side={TEAM}
[/unit]
#enddef

#
#Create 0 to 3 units of random type
#

#define RANDOM_CREATE_UNITS TEAM TYPES X Y
[set_variable]
  name=r
  random=1..3
[/set_variable]

[if]
  [variable]
    name=r
    numerical_equals=1
  [/variable]
  [then]
    [set_variable]
      name=i
      value=0
    [/set_variable]
    [set_variable]
      name=n
      random=1..3
    [/set_variable]
    [while]
      [variable]
        name=i
        less_than=$n 
      [/variable]
      [do]
        [set_variable]
          name=unit_type
          random={TYPES}
        [/set_variable] 
        [unit]
          side={TEAM}
          type=$unit_type
          x={X}
          y={Y}
        [/unit]
        [set_variable]
          name=i
          add=1
        [/set_variable]
      [/do]
    [/while]
  [/then]
[/if]
#enddef

#
# Create N units of random type.
#

#define CREATE_UNITS N TYPES SIDE X Y
{VARIABLE i 0}
[while]
  [variable]
    name=i
    less_than={N}
  [/variable]
  [do]
    {CREATE_UNIT ({TYPES}) ({SIDE}) ({X}) ({Y})}
    {VARIABLE_OP i add 1}
  [/do]
[/while]
#enddef
in your utils file, and this

Code: Select all

#define MOVE_TO_VILLAGE X Y
[event]
	name=moveto
	first_time_only=yes
  [filter]
    x={X}
    y={Y}
  [/filter]
#ifdef EASY
  {RANDOM 0..3}
#endif
#ifdef NORMAL
  {RANDOM 0..2}
#endif
#ifdef HARD
  {RANDOM 0..1}
#endif

  {CREATE_UNITS $random (Dwarvish Fighter,Dwarvish Thunderer) 1 ({X}) ({Y})}
[/event]
#enddef

{MOVE_TO_VILLAGE 23 3}
in your scenario in place of your
[event]
name=capture
..................................
[/event]
stuff, it will work. You might be able to keep those [set_variable] s. The two previous WML sections are from Genosuke's "Invasion of Eliador."

Hope this helps.
Taurus
Inactive Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Taurus »

Ranger M wrote:It does, or at least it would if I could work out at what point you turned one of the units into the leader of the new side (that's the bit I really need help with).
This is the part where the new leader is made:

Code: Select all

  [store_unit] 
         [filter] 
         description=Gr?º?º 
         [/filter] 
      variable=moving 
      kill=yes 
      [/store_unit] 

######This variable changes the side
      [set_variable] 
      name=moving.side 
      value=4 
      [/set_variable] 

#####The next to variables change the "x" and "y" cordinates - it defines where I want him to pop up when I unstore him.
      [set_variable] 
      name=moving.x 
      value=5 
      [/set_variable] 
      [set_variable] 
      name=moving.y 
      value=4 
      [/set_variable] 

######This variable sets him as the leader of the side, or enables him to recruit.
      [set_variable] 
      name=moving.canrecruit 
      value=1 
      [/set_variable] 
Creater of the campaign, "Northern Rebirth"

Compleater of the campaign, "Son of the Black Eye"
User avatar
JW
Posts: 5046
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 7:06 am
Location: Chicago-ish, Illinois

Post by JW »

Campaign server's back up. You should upload the latest version. :wink:
User avatar
Ranger M
Art Contributor
Posts: 1965
Joined: December 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm
Location: England

Post by Ranger M »

troodon wrote:In invasion of Arendia, version 1.0,

typo in 02-Reths_training.cfg

line 600

problem: I don't think you meant it to be

Code: Select all

[clear_variable]
name=woldshown
[/clear_variable]
it's supposed to be wolfshown, right? f, not d.
Yep, I actually fixed this while I was revamping the code in Reth's training (which now behaves how I had origionally intended it to), so I've already fixed the third problem. As for the second, I had thought I'd taken care of all of them, I'll fix them now.
JW wrote:Campaign server's back up. You should upload the latest version. :wink:
not for me it isn't, but I'll try again later after fixing the problems that troondon mentioned.

EDIT: oops :oops: I almost forgot, thanks for the help Taurus, it will be really useful.
troodon
Posts: 218
Joined: July 22nd, 2006, 8:55 pm

server IS up

Post by troodon »

Ranger M wrote:
JW wrote:
Campaign server's back up. You should upload the latest version. Wink


not for me it isn't, but I'll try again later
It is up. Type drazzib.com in place of campaigns.wesnoth.org as the server. I just downloaded your campaign yesterday
Post Reply